DALBURY LEES, Derbyshire
Census
- The parish was in the Repton sub-district of the Burton on Trent Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 1960 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2197 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
- The church seats 129.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- The Anglican parish register dates from 1545 for all entries.
- The
London Family History Centre has the parish registers for 1545 thru 1982 on microfilm. They also have the Bishop's transcripts for 1676 thru 1874.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Longford.
- The Primitive Methodists had a chapel here before 1891.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Repton sub-district of the Burton on Trent Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"DALBURY, (or Dalbury with Lees) a parish in the hundred of Appletree, in the county of Derby, 6 miles N.E. of Burton-on-Trent, the same distance S.W. of Derby, and 3½ N. of Egginton station."
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of
Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Return to top of page
Directories
- Ann Andrews provides a transcription of the Dalbury Lees entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).
Return to top of page
Gazetteers
- The transcription of the section for Dalbury from
the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- And we have the transcription of the section for Dalbury from "Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland" in 1891 at the Andrews pages.
Return to top of page
Names, Geographical
- "Dalbury" is from the Old Norse deity named "Delingr." The village is referred to twice in the 1086 Domesday Book; once as Delbebi, and once as Dellingeberie.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This parish was in the ancient Appletree Hundred (or Wapentake).
- District governance is provided by the South Derbyshire District Council.
Return to top of page
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
- The
London Family History Centre has the Churchwardens Accounts for 1852 thru 1916.
- As a result of the Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish joined the Burtton upon Trent Poorlaw Union.