DUFFIELD, Derbyshire
Bibliography
- Wiltshire, Mary (and others) - Duffield Firth. Landmark, 2005. ISBN 1-84306-191-0. Added 8 Nov 2005.
Return to top of page
Census
- The parish was the centre of the Duffield sub-district of the Belper Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2507 thru 2510 & 2513 & 2518 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2741 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
- No trace remains of the early Saxon church dedicated to Saint Alkmund.
- The church was extensively restored in 1847.
- The church seats 578.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- The Anglican parish registers date from 1598.
- Marriages at Duffield, 1598-1812 are available in Nigel Batty-Smith's
database of scanned images of
Phillimore's Parish Registers.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Duffield.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was the centre of the Duffield sub-district of the Belper Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"DUFFIELD is a large and pleasant village, in the populous parish of its name, in the hundred of Appletree: the village is situate on a fine plain, over which the main road passes, leading from Derby to Belper, Matlock, and Sheffield; about four and a half miles north from Derby, and three and a half south from Belper. It has long been esteemed a favourite residence of persons enjoying a respectable competence, who prefer retirement and quiet to the bustle of larger towns."
[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]
Return to top of page
Directories
- A Description of Duffield has been
transcribed by Heather Faulkes from Pigot's Directory of 1828.
- Ann Andrews provides a transcription of the Duffield entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).
Return to top of page
Gazetteers
- The transcription of the section for Duffield from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This parish was in the ancient Appletree Hundred (or Wapentake).
Return to top of page
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
- As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms, this parish became a member of the Belper Poorlaw Union.
Return to top of page
Schools
- A grammar school at Duffield was founded in 1565 by William Gilbert.
(Ref: A History of Derbyshire, Gladwyn Turbutt, 1999)