GENUKI Home page
Eyam Eyam     Contents & Site Map Contents &
Site Map


The Plague Stricken Derbyshire Village

or What To See In and Around Eyam

By Rev J.M.J. Fletcher, 1920s

Transcription by Andrew McCann © 2000-2001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

The Rev J.M.J. Fletcher was Canon of Salisbury, and a former Vicar of Tideswell between 1900 and 1906. He also wrote A Guide to Tideswell and its Church.

The following portions have been transcribed by Andrew McCann between December 2000 and February 2001 from the fifth edition of Fletcher's book on Eyam, published some time between 1920 and 1930. Be sure not to miss the Miscellaneous section, as it has a selection of unusual entries from the parish registers, such as:- "1663. Dec. 30 Buried Anne a traveller who was at her death according to her own computation 136 years of age."

The Illustrations from the book may be viewed separately.


The above sections above have been listed in the order it is expected will be of most interest to the genealogist. The order of chapters in the original volume is as follows:-

[This information has been very kindly contributed by Andrew McCann.
See Derbyshire GENUKI Service Providers for contact details]


GENUKI Home  |  Conditions of Use  |  Contents  |  FAQ  |  GENUKI on WT  |  Help  |  Report Errors  |  Search

© Copyright Andrew McCann, GENUKI and Contributors 1999-2006, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see About GENUKI as an Organisation

Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.

URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/DBY/Eyam/Fletcher/index.html


Valid HTML 4.0! [Created 9 Feb 2001. Last updated 28 Nov 2006 - 18:50 by Rosemary Lockie]