Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Fenny Bentley

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Fenny Bentley

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Calton sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
     
  • In 1911, the parish was in the Brassington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2522
1891 R.G. 12 / 2754

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Fenny Bentley area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Edmund, King and Martyr. The church has ALWAYS been dedicated to St. Edmund, but for some 380 years people thought the dedication was to St. Mary Magdalene. Nor reason for the error has been noted.
     
  • A chapelry existed here as early as 1240.
     
  • The church was re-built in the early 14th century, and little of the older building has survived.
     
  • The church was thoroughly restored in 1850 and the tower added.
     
  • The spire was added in 1864.
     
  • The church seats 200.
     
  • Nikki MAHADEVAN has provided a photograph of St. Edmund's Church at Geo-graph, taken in 2007.
     
  • And there is another photograph of St. Edmund's Church at Geo-graph, taken in January, 2010.
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1604, but early years are very illegible. The pages for 1642 through 1660 are missing.
     
  • The London Family History Centre has the parish registers on microfilm covering 1604 to 1991.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Ashbourne.
     
  • There was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel built here in 1832, but by 1890 it was only occasionally used.
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Calton sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
     
  • In 1911, the parish was in the Brassington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
topup

Description and Travel

"BENTLEY is a small agricultural parish, in the same hundred as Tissington, about a mile and a half, south, from that village. Part of the old Manor house is still standing, and is occupied as a farm house. The church, which is dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene, is a small structure with a low tower: the living is a discharged rectory, in the patronage of the Dean of Lincoln. The parish contained, at the last census, 308 inhabitants."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

Note: The church dedication above is incorrect.

Neil THEASBY has a photograph of the Bentley Brook Inn on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2016, This Inn is at the southern tip of the village.

You can see pictures of Fenny Bentley which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Fenny Bentley to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Fenny Bentley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • The land has been used chiefly for pasturage.
     
  • Peter BARR has a photograph of the Coach and Horses pub on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2010. This pub is also at the southern end of the village.
topup

Manors

  • Nikki MAHADEVAN has provided a photograph of the Old Manor Hall at Geo-graph, taken in 2007.
topup
topup

Military History

Neil THEASBY has a photograph of the Memorial window in the parish church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2016. This window is dedicated to Major Beresford A.J. HAVELOCK who was killed in action September 14th 1918.

topup

Military Records

topup

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Derby and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • This parish was in the ancient Wirksworth Hundred (or Wapentake).
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases were heard at the Petty Sessional Hearings at the Green Man Inn in Ashbourne every Saturday.
     
  • With the passage of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became a member of the Ashbourn Poorlaw Union.