GREAT HUCKLOW, Derbyshire
Bibliography
- Hucklow, Great - Lead In The Veins. Hucklow Publishing, 2009. ISBN 978-0-9563473-0-5.
Return to top of page
Census
- The parish was in the Tideswell sub-district of the Bakewell Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2544 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2777 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Great Hucklow Presbyterian Chapel was founded in 1696
under the auspices of William BAGSHAWE, the non-conformist minister, and
so-called Apostle of the Peak whose brother Thomas was Lord of the
Manor here. At the time, worship outside the Church of England was still
against the law, and early meetings were held in secret, at a barn nearby
to the site of the present building. The latter dates from 1796 or 7 - its building
was most likely prompted by the Act of Relief, in 1791, which made worship
outside the Church of England legal.
Please note the present day congregation at this Chapel is Unitarian, the introduction being possibly in 1826, when the register of Presbyterian baptisms ends (see below).
Return to top of page
Church Records
- Sadly, there are no parish registers for the early years of the Presbyterian Chapel. The earliest register records baptisms for the period 1789-1826. It has been microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, Film #0590682 from the original, which like all pre-1837 Non-Conformist registers, is held at the PRO. There is also a transcript available, and most of the entries do appear to be in the IGI. Some of the baptism entries record profession of the father - I recall being quite surprised to see a Watchmaker mentioned!
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Tideswell sub-district of the Bakewell Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"GREAT HUCKLOW, a hamlet in the parish of Hope, hundred of High Peak, county Derby, 2 miles N.E. of Tideswell. The hamlet, which is considerable, contains places of worship for Presbyterians, Wesleyans, and Unitarians." [Recorded as HUCKLOW MAGNA in Gazetteer -RL 2003]
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of
Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
There is a photograph of the Butter Cross on Geo-graph, taken in 2005.
Return to top of page
Directories
- Ann Andrews provides a transcription of the Great Hucklow entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).
- Liz Sparkes has a transcript of the White's 1857 Trade Directory on her website.
Return to top of page
History
- The Queen Anne Pub on the main street has been around since the 17th century. Luckily, they have stayed up-go-date and even have a website.
- There is a photograph of the Queen Anne Public House on Geo-graph, taken in 2006.
- Neil has a photograph of the Queen Anne Public House in Great Hucklow on Panoramio.
- These are the names associated with the Queen Anne (sometimes listed as the "Queen's Head") in various sources:
| Year | Person(s) |
|---|---|
| 1855 | Caleb HIGGINBOTHAM, farmer |
| 1895 | Caleb HEGINBOTHAM, farmer |
| 1912 | Mrs. Martha HEGINBOTHAM |
| 1935 | Benjamin and Anne E. BOOTH |
Return to top of page
Names, Geographical
- The origin of the name of the hamlet near Great Hucklow named 'Windmill' has given cause for speculation, as there is no documentary evidence of a windmill in the vicinity. There is however a suggested explanation of the name provided as a postcript to Julie Bunting's article on Corn Milling in her book of Bygone Industries of The Peak, which may be of interest. It was actually a 'Wind' (winding - long 'i') Mill. It is nevertheless pronounced locally today with the customary short 'i' of a mill turned by wind-power, rather than by mechanical means. Added 6 Jul 2005.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This place was a hamlet in the ancient parish of Hope, Derbyshire, and became a separate modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
- This parish was in the ancient High Peak Hundred (or Wapentake).
Return to top of page
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
- As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act this parish became part of the Bakewell Poolaw Union.