HADDON, Derbyshire - Extract from National Gazetteer, 1868
"HADDON, (Over and Nether Haddon) townships in the parish of Bakewell, county Derby, 2 miles S.E. of Bakewell. They are situated on the river Wye, and contain several good houses. The tithes were commuted for land and a money payment under an Enclosure Act in 1806. At this place is Haddon Hall, the old baronial seat of the Vernons, one of whom, Sir George Vernon, is celebrated in story as "King of the Peak". The whole building, which is still nearly perfect, is situated on a limestone rock overlooking the river Wye. The great hall, with its dais and oak gallery, is the original of Sir Walter Scott's "Martindale Hall", in his "Peverel of the Peak". There are many other interesting apartments, as the long gallery; the panelled dining-room, with its antique tapestry; the chapel, with its richly painted windows of the 15th century, stone font, and Roman altar; the chaplain's room, containing ancient matchlock, doublets, and the Prince Regent's state bed; besides the quaintly laid-out gardens, and Dorothy Vernon's walk." "NETHER-HADDON, a township in the parish of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, county Derby, 2 miles S.W. of Bakewell, its post town, and 6 W. of Rowsley. The village of Over Haddon in this township is on rising ground. The inhabitants are wholly engaged in agriculture. Haddon Hall was erected at different periods, some portions of it so early as the reign of Edward III., but the greater part in Elizabeth's time. The buildings enclose two quadrangular courts. The chapel is a small edifice erected in Edward VI.'s time, and has a painted window of the Crucifixion, bearing date 1427."
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of
Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]