Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Hulland

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Hulland

topup

Archives and Libraries

Hulland Ward is served by the Mobile Library on route 5, which stops at Ashes Avenue Car Park on every fourth Monday in the early afternoon.

topup
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Ashbourne sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District until 1901.
     
  • Prior to the 1911 census, the parish was reassigned to the Brassington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District until 1901.
     
  • Check for census records at Wirksworth.org.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2146
1861 R.G. 9 / 2519 & 2521
1891 R.G. 12 / 2751 & 2753

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hulland area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Christ.
     
  • The church was built in 1838.
     
  • The church seats 273.
     
  • Mike FOWKES has a photograph of Christ Church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2006.
     
  • There was once a church in Biggin township, but by 1900 even the site of the church had been forgotten.
     
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register daes from 1838.
     
  • The churh was in the rural deanery of Ashborne.
     
  • We have a pop-up window of Parish Register burials partially extracted into a text file for your review. Your additions are welcomed.
     
  • By 1891 the Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here.
     
  • By 1891 the Primitive Methodists had three chapels here.
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Ashbourne sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
topup

Description and Travel

"HULLAND, a township and ecclesiastical district in the parish of Ashbourne, hundred of Appletree, county Derby, 5 miles N.E. of Ashbourne, its post town, and 6 W. of the Belper and Duffield railway stations. The village, which is small, is situated on rising ground. The inhabitants are chiefly employed in dairy farming."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin HINSON ©2003]

Hulland Ward is a township and a small village in the parish.

Biggin (both Nether and Upper) is a township and a small village in the parish.

Cross-o’-th’-Hands, Shuckton Manor and Wardgate  are all places within the Hulland Ward township.

You can see pictures of Hulland which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hulland to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hulland has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Military History

  • The Traces of War website tells us that Christ Church's churchyard has 1 Commonwealth War Grave from World War I and 1 from World War II.
     
  • In 1891 and 1912, Lt.-Col. John Edward Paget MOSLEY resided in Hulland Hall. He had been a Colonel in the Bengal Staff Corps.
topup

Military Records

These are the two Commonwealth War Grave burials in Hulland Ward churchyard:

  1. Alfred Henry GREGORY, RAF Vol. Rsrv., died 23 July 1941
  2. John William MORLEY, Royal Garrison Artillery, died 19 Oct. 1917
topup

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Township in Ashbourne parish in Derby county and it became a separate, modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
     
  • This parish was in the ancient Appletree Hundred (or Wapentake).
     
  • District governance is provided by the Derbyshire Dales District Council.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • The Common Land was enclosed here in 1773.
     
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Ashbourn petty session hearings.
     
  • Biggin Township Bastardy cases would be heard in the Wirksworth petty session hearings.
     
  • With the passage of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became a member of the Ashbourne Poorlaw Union.
topup

Schools

A Public Elementary School (mixed) was built here in 1838 for 130 children.