LITTLEOVER, Derbyshire
Census
- The parish was in the Shardlow sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2490 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2721 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter.
- The church was built in the 14th century as a Chapel of Ease.
- The church has its own website, but it offers no history of the building.
- Littleover also has a new Anglican church dedicated to Saint Andrew and constructed in 1979 on Blagraves Lane.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- Remember that you may have to search under Micleover for records prior to 1866 (when the parish was formed).
- The London Family History Centre has the parish registers for 1680 thru 1924 and the Bishop's Transcripts for 1662 thru 1869 on microfilm.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Derby.
- The Baptists built a chapel here before 1857.
- The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here before 1857.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Shardlow sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"LITTLEOVER, a chapelry in the parish of Mickleover, hundred of Morlaston, county Derby, 2 miles S.W. of Derby, its post town. The living is a curacy annexed to the vicarage* of Mickleover, in the diocese of Lichfield. The chapel contains a marble monument to one of the Harpur family. A short distance from the village is situated the county lunatic asylum, on an elevated spot from which there is an extensive prospect."
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of
Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
The village now functiuons as a suburb of Derby city and lies 3 miles south of the city centre.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This place was an ancient Township and Chapelry in Derbyshire and became a modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
- This parish was in the ancient Morleston and Litchurch Hundred (or Wapentake).
- In April, 1928, this parish gave up 62 acres to Derby Civil Parish and 156 acres to Normanton Civil parish.
- In April, 1968, this parish was abolished and 14 acres were given to Findern Civil parish.
Return to top of page
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
- In 1768 Thomas WADE left a charity of 12 shillings a year to be paid to poor widows on every St. Thomas day. In 1857, his decendant, Geoerge WADE, was still honoring this bequest.
- As a result of the Poorlaw Amendment Act of 1834 reforms, the parish joined the Shardlow Poorlaw Union.