Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Mackworth

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Mackworth

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Duffield sub-district of the Belper Registration District.

  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:

Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2144
1861 R.G. 9 / 2506
1891 R.G. 12 / 2741

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Mackworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints. This church is located north of the village, across the A52 trunk road on Church Lane.

  • The church chancel dates from about 1310. The tower and spire date from about 1360.

  • The church was thoroughly restored in 1851.

  • The church seats 300.

  • The church appears to be minimally used at present.

  • John SALMON has a photograph of All Saints Church on Geo-graph, taken in 1991.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1611 and is in good condition.

  • Marriages at Mackworth, 1603-1812 are available in Nigel BATTY-SMITH's database of scanned images of Phillimore's Parish Registers.

  • We have a pop-up window of Parish Register burials (partially) extracted into a text file for your review. Your additions are welcomed.

  • The church was in the rural deanery of Duffield.

  • Geoff PICK provides a photograph of the Church of Jesus Christ Of Latter-Day Saints (Mormon) on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2010.

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

  • The parish was in the Duffield sub-district of the Belper Registration District.

Description and Travel

"MACKWORTH, a parish, with a small village, in the hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, is situate on the road from Derby to Ashbourn, two miles and a half from the former, and ten and a half from the latter town. Here is a neat church, dedicated to All Saints, and in the neighbourhood, are the vestiges of a castle; the south gate of the edifice, which is entire, forms the entrance to a farm-house. The castle was the ancient seat of the De Mackworths, and was probably demolished during the parliamentary war. The parish (including the township of Mark-Eaton), contained, in the last census, 621 inhabitants."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

You can see pictures of Mackworth which are provided by:

Directories

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Mackworth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Mackworth to another place.

History

  • See Woolley's 1712 History of the parish.

  • There is a booklet written by Rosemary LUCAS, "The Manor of Markeaton, Mackworth and Allestree, 1650 - 1851", 84 pages, published by the author, available in local libraries. It is on local, not family history.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK320378 (Lat/Lon: 52.936628, -1.525329), Mackworth which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This parish included the ancient townships of Macworth and Markeaton.

  • This place was an ancient parish in Derbyshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.

  • This parish was in the ancient Morleston and Litchurch Hundred (or Wapentake).

  • District governance is provided by the Amber Valley Borough Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Derby petty session hearings.

  • The Common Land was enclosed here in 1763.

  • As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Belper Poorlaw Union.

Schools

  • A school was built here in 1826 in Markeaton to serve both townships. The school was just for girls, but by 1857 served both sexes.

  • A school was built in Macworth in 1835 to serve both townships.

  • There is an article about Thomas RUSSEL and his School at Mackworth in the Derbyshire Family History Society Journal, Issue 74, September 1995, pp23-6, which includes not only an account of the school, but also a list of the pupils and staff recorded on 1841-71 censuses.