MARSTON MONTGOMERY, Derbyshire
Census
- The parish was in the Sudbury sub-district of the Uttoxeter Registration District.
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Giles.
- The church was thoroughly restored in 1876.
- The church seats only 120.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- The Anglican parish registers date from 1660.
- Researchers should also review the Cubley parish registers.
- We have a pop-up window of Parish Register burials
(partially) extracted into a text file for your review. Your additions are welcomed.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Ashborne.
- The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1845.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Sudbury sub-district of the Uttoxeter Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"MARSTON-MONTGOMERY is a parish, in the same hundred as Cubley, one mile and a half from that village, and 4 N.E. from Uttoxeter, (in Staffordshire), the nearest post town. The greater proportion of the inhabitants, as well as those in the neighbouring parish of Cubley, are engaged in agriculture. The church here Is dedicated to St. Giles, and the living is annexed to that of Cubley. A school is supported here by small annual donations. The population in 1831 was 457, being fewer by 12 inhabitants than it contained in 1821, and 19 more than were returned at the census of 1801."
[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]
The parish covers 2,475 acres and includes the hamlet of Waldley.
Return to top of page
Directories
- Ann Andrews provides a transcription of the Marston Montgomery entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).
Return to top of page
Gazetteers
- The transcription of the section for Marston Montgomery from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
Return to top of page
History
- The parish land has mostly been used for pasturage in recent centuries.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This parish was in the ancient Appletree Hundred (or Wapentake).