We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Shirley

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Ashbourne sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.

  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:

Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2519
1891 R.G. 12 / 2751

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Shirley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • There was a church here at the time of the Norman Conquest.

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Michael.

  • The church was extensively repaired in 1842.

  • The church seats 200.

  • Martyn GLOVER provides a photo of Saint Michael's Church on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2010.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1658 and is in good condition.

  • The London Family History Centre has the parish registers for 1773 through 1981 on microfilm.

  • The church was in the rural deanery of Ashborne.

  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here built in 1855.

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

  • The parish was in the Ashbourne sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.

Description and Travel

"SHIRLEY, with the townships of STYDD and YEAVELEY, forming a parish, in the same hundred as Brailsford, is about 3 miles W. from that village, 9 N.W. from Derby, and 5 S. by E. from Ashbourn. The habitations are so scattered over the parish, that the features of a village are not to be recognised. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is a small building, with a tower of wood. Shirley park, in this parish, occupies upwards of two hundred acres, and at one time was a noted cover for foxes. Part of the old manor house of the Shirleys, who settled here in the reign of Henry II, still exists attached to a farm house. The parish contained, at the last census, 602 inhabitants."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

Explore the Shirley village website before you visit.

Hollington is just southeast of Shirley along Marsh Hollow road.

You can see pictures of Shirley which are provided by:

Directories

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Shirley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The Saracen's Head is a good spot for catching up on local news and events.

  • The Saracen's Head was built in 1791 and has changed little since then.

  • David STOWELL has a photo of the Saracen's Head on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2009.

  • These are the proprietors listed in various directories for The Saracen's Head:
Year  Person
1857 Willaim RIX, vict.
1912 Mrs. Isabella MELLOR

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK218416 (Lat/Lon: 52.971297, -1.676836), Shirley which are provided by:

Military Records

There is one Commonwealth War Grave from World War II in St. Michael's cmetery:

  1. Jeremy Michael Camerson HARVEY, trooper, Royal Armoured Corps, age 18, died 23 Apr. 1946. Son of Brigadier Charles B. HARVEY and Iris D. HARVEY.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient township and parish in Derby county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.

  • This parish was in the ancient Appletree Hundred (or Wapentake).

  • You may contact the Shirley Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to do family history lookups for you.

  • District governance is provided by the Derbyshire Dales District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases were heard at the Ashbourn Petty Session hearings every Saturday.

  • As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act, this parish became a member of the Ashbourn Poorlaw Union.