SHIRLEY, Derbyshire
Census
- The parish was in the Ashbourne sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2519 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2751 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Michael (some sources give St. Matthew?).
- Michael GLOVER provides a photo of Saint Michael's Church on Geo-graph, taken in 2010.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- The Anglican parish register dates from 1658 and is in good condition.
- The London Family History Centre has the parish registers for 1773 through 1981 on microfilm.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Ashborne.
- The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here built before 1891.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Ashbourne sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"SHIRLEY, with the townships of STYDD and YEAVELEY, forming a parish, in the same hundred as Brailsford, is about 3 miles W. from that village, 9 N.W. from Derby, and 5 S. by E. from Ashbourn. The habitations are so scattered over the parish, that the features of a village are not to be recognised. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is a small building, with a tower of wood. Shirley park, in this parish, occupies up wards of two hundred acres, and at one time was a noted cover for foxes. Part of the old manor house of the Shirleys, who settled here in the reign of Henry II, still exists attached to a farm house. The parish contained, at the last census, 602 inhabitants."
[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]
Return to top of page
Directories
- Ann Andrews provides a transcription of the Shirley entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).
Return to top of page
Gazetteers
- The transcription of the section for Shirley from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
Return to top of page
Military History
- There's a photo of the War Memorial at Traces of War showing it in the churchyard.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This parish was in the ancient Appletree Hundred (or Wapentake).
Return to top of page
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
- As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act, this parish became a member of the Ashbourn Poorlaw Union.