SUTTON cum DUCKMANTON, Derbyshire
Bibliography
Here are a series of wonderful books written by local author Pamela Kettle:-
- Kettle, Pamela - Oldcotes. Merton Priory Press, 2000.
The story of a stately home which vanished, Bess of Hardwick's last building. - A history of the Hardwick Inn. Published by P Kettle, 1991;
96 pages, paperback.
ISBN 095181320X - The history of the Sutton-cum-Duckmanton endowed school, 1693-1936.
Published by Pamela Kettle, Chesterfield, 1996; 76 pages, paperback.
ISBN 029518132X - Sutton Scardale's story - Pt. 1: The Leekes of Sutton.
Published by Ilkeston : Moorley's Bible & Bookshop, 116 pages, paperback.
ISBN 086071313X - Parsons of Sutton-cum-Duckmanton : seven centuries of church life.
Published by Pamela Kettle, Chesterfield, 1995; 116 pages, paperback.
ISBN 0951813218
Return to top of page
Census
- The parish was in the Bolsover sub-district of the Chesterfield Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2533 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2767 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Mary.
- The church was built in the early 14th century.
- The church seats 250.
- The church is a Grade II listed structure with British Heritage.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- The Anglican parish registers date from 1662.
- The parish registers of Sutton cum Duckmanton,
1662-1837, edited by Pamela Kettle and Philip Riden, 1992,
are available for purchase as one of Derbyshire Record Society Publications
ISBN 0946324158. - The book above exists in a digital form.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Chesterfield.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Bolsover sub-district of the Chesterfield Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"SUTTON-CUM-DUCKMANTON, a parish in the hundred of Scarsdale, county Derby, 4½ miles S.E. of Chesterfield, its post town, and 160 from London. In the vicinity are the Duckmanton colliery and iron works. The living is a rectory* with the vicarage of Duckmanton annexed, in the diocese of Lichfield, value £309. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, has several stained windows."
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of
Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Sutton-cum-Duckmanton contains the villages of Arkwright Town, Duckmanton, Long Duckmanton, and Sutton Scarsdale and the hamlet of Sutton Spring Wood.
Return to top of page
Directories
- Ann ANDREWS provides a transcription of the Sutton cum Duckmanton entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).
Return to top of page
Gazetteers
- We have the transcription of the section for Sutton cum Duckmanton from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin HINSON.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This place was an ancient parish in Derby county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- This parish was in the ancient Scarsdale Hundred (or Wapentake).
Return to top of page
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
- After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, this parish became part of the Chesterfield Poor Law Union.
- Bastardy cases would be heard in the Chesterfield petty session hearings.