Family History Sources on CD from Valerie Neal Derbyshire
This webpage describes a series of CDROMs of transcriptions of parish registers, and other
useful material for family history research in Derbyshire, produced by private Family History
researchers Ivor and Val Neal.
Information is transcribed from original sources in the County Record Office at Matlock, with
the kind permission of the archivist, who also agrees to them being available for purchase.
Parish register entries are transcribed directly
from the original registers themselves, sometimes with the aid of an ultra-violet lamp, so
the highest quality is assured.
The CDs are mainly of Parish Registers, but
there is one CD of Social History.
I hope very much that you will find something of interest here.
Information on CDs include all readable Baptisms, Marriages
and Burials (CMB) for the period stated plus digital Photographs (JPG images).
The transcriptions are a result of Val's attempting to track the lives of those born up to the end
of 1837, and the data includes partial cross-referencing, to include (for example) putative place
of origin of parents on baptism records. Whilst this research is still in its early stages, the
progress so far has been included on the CD.
NORTH DERBYSHIRE NON-CONFORMIST
Bradwell, Buxton, Charlesworth, Chinley, Glossop, Great Hucklow, Hadfield, Hayfield,
Marple Bridge, New Mills, Whitfield, &c.
Compiling this CD proved to be a mammoth task for the transcribers; however the results
should prove to be of great value for many researchers, particularly since it is a little unusual,
as many of the entries are for people who lived 'over the border', in Cheshire.
A full list of what the CD contains is included below.
The Neals are to be commended for what must have been a very
difficult task compiling this CD, as these registers are in very poor
condition, with duplicated entries, entries in random order,
and in the case of Quakers, of the same baptisms being reported to
different meetings. However in my opinion everyone with roots in
the Peak District of Derbyshire is likely to be able to find something
of interest in this unique collection, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
A full list of what the CD contains is included below.
Baslow is an unusual parish in some respects. A sizeable proportion of Baslow couples (perhaps
even the majority) were married in Bakewell (the 'mother' church), so there are fewer marriage
records than might be expected.
In addition, whilst the extant registers span four centuries, portions in the 17th century are
missing, or damaged; however the Neals now have years of experience to draw on in deciphering
these 'difficult to read' registers, and every attempt has been made to read, and record whatever
records are available, using Bishops Transcripts when possible to supplement the result.
Knowing from my own research what a difficult register Baslow can be to work with, this
aid to research has my highest commendation. The overall result is without any measure of
doubt a major contribution to anyone's research in The Peak District of Derbyshire, and
I can thoroughly recommend it.
This transcription is a 'gem' from the point of view of my own research - another major
contribution to research in the Peak District, which I can recommend. The photographs
are wonderful, and include villages of Foolow, Wardlow and Grindleford, besides Eyam
itself. Their close ups of Tourist Information signs in Eyam reveal the Stocks were
restored for the Festival of Britain in 1951, whilst the building behind them is the
Old Market Hall (something I didn't know, since I hadn't read the board).
"Get it now while stocks last" <G!>
This is a large register, with almost 20,000 baptisms, and a great deal of effort
was involved in its preparation and transcription. Every attempt has been made to
read the records and record them accurately, and where possible gaps have been
filled in from the Bishop's Transcripts which began in 1671. The result is of great
value to the Family Historian researching in the Hope Valley area, as the original
parish of Hope covered a huge area, including places as far afield as Fairfield (Buxton)
and Horwich End (near Chinley). In addition, Hope was the "mother"
church for many of the inhabitants in surrounding parishes. Thus you may expect to
find couples marrying there for prestige, or - like Bakewell - when their own parish
church, or chapelry was not available. The CD offers a unique resource outside the
Record Office, as IGI (FamilySearch) coverage of these events is patchy. This is
reflected in the higher price of £20, plus the usual £1 extra for overseas.
St Giles's Church
(CD also includes St Michael & All Angels, Sheldon)
There are some gaps in parish register coverage, but as usual, the Neals
have filled in wherever possible using Bishops' Transcripts. The result is
that about 2 years only are missing totally, plus one page in the early register,
which is totally unreadable as it has been damaged by a spillage of some
liquid (the communion wine?!) on it.
Normally burials would have been transcribed to 1900, but for some reason
the burial records available in the Record Office only go up to 1882.
Sheldon is also included on this CD as it would be too small to distribute
separately. Coverage is of Baptisms 1737 to 1841, Marriages 1745 to 1882,
and Burials 1853 to 1900.
This is an interesting CD, since it represents a resource which was formerly unavailable to
researchers visiting the Derbyshire County Record Office, as the parish register for 1707-1754
had been lost. Fortunately, however the Bishops Transcripts for the period survived, and
entries have been included from those held at the Lichfield Record Office. Although there
were no marriages between 1756 and 1813 in either source, and records for
1690-96 have been lost completely, it is still a remarkable new resource.
As usual, photographs of Monyash are included on the CD as well.
Please note some entries may have been lost from this register as two leaves
were removed (cut out) at some time in the past. Fortunately, however, a Doctor
Kelly had transcribed some of the records before this happened, and his
manuscripts have been deposited in Derby City Local Studies Library.
We have extracted what we were able to from these, so there may not
be too many missing after all.
Note: the earliest baptisms and burials recorded in the Shirland parish registers
date from 1695, and the earliest burials from 1678. However Bishops Transcripts
are available from 1661, and entries on this CD have been compiled from both sources.
Once again, the Neals have visited the Diocesan Record Office at Lichfield to
fill in gaps left in Parish Register coverage. The General Register lodged at the Derbyshire
County Record Office begins in 1715, but Bishops Transcripts survive from 1663, and
entries have been included from that period up to the start of the Parish Register,
apart from the few years for which the Bishops Transcripts are also missing.
For the record, that's 1669-70, 1686-90, 1712-13, 1774-5, and 1862.
Another coup for the Neals, and
as usual, photographs of Stoney Middleton are included on the CD as well.
This is not a large CD, but parish register coverage is fragmented so trips to the
Diocesan Record Office at Lichfield were necessary to fill in some of the gaps. This is
reflected in the higher price, but the contents also has the considerable advantage
of providing a record of a number of baptisms and marriages which are not also
available in the IGI (FamilySearch)
This massive undertaking, which has taken over a year to complete, comprises
12,350 baptisms, 13,260 burials and 2,600 marriages, which incidentally is more than
Bakewell, with 10,260 baptisms and 11,760 burials. Bakewell does however have
more marriages - nearly 6,800 - as is to be expected as it was the "mother" church
for chapelries such as Buxton (yes really!) and Baslow, which weren't always
available for marriages.
Worthy of note is that a significant number of entries prior to 1813 provide a father's
profession, and for burials sometimes an age at death and what a person died of (smallpox
being common!). The transcription also covers the gap in IGI (Family Search) coverage,
compiled from the Bishops Transcripts, which are missing for a period circa 1730-60.
The greater effort involved in its preparation and transcription is reflected in the
higher price of £20, plus the usual £1 extra for overseas.
"Get it now!"
An account compiled by Sylvia Wright, illustrated by extracts
from various documents, including a Certifying Certificate,
transcript of the 1841 Census of St Werburgh Parish, Derby,
Green Hill House Lunatic Asylum, accounts of treatment and
images of some barbaric "treatment" devices.
The cover image is a copy of the Edvard Munch painting “The Scream”.
We provide the information in a variety of formats (including PDF) to ensure CDs should be readable
on virtually any operating system. There are three database formats, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Works
and Comma-Separated Variable (CSV - suitable for importing into a spreadsheet such as Excel)
Word Processor (DOC) and Adobe Acrobat (PDF) versions are also included, listing records in both
chronological and in alphabetical order, although of course these cannot provide the full functionality
of a database or spreadsheet for sorting and searching.
Note: Access 97 and above users may wish to be aware there is a fundamental problem in
trying to open databases from any read-only media (eg CD), so you will need to copy the
database to your hard disk before you can view it.
The CDs also have photograph collections in JPG format, which can be viewed with your
favourite image viewer. IrfanView is a good
Freeware one, but you can also use Internet Explorer if necessary. Microsoft Paint, one
of the Windows 9x Accessories will also suffice.
Prices quoted are in Sterling, and include postage and packing.
Payment may be by Sterling cheque, postal order, or via the PayPal system.
The e-mail address for enquiries and for
Orders by post (accompanied by Sterling cheques) may be sent to:-
50 Main Street,
Make cheques &c. payable to "Val Neal", and
please be sure to state which of the above CDs you require!
The CDROM will be sent in a "Jiffy" (bubble wrap padded) envelope complete
with slimline "Jewel Case". Please be patient whilst waiting for delivery
as it may take us up to 21 days for us to process your order, plus an allowance for time
in the post. Delays are possible even in the UK, and for Overseas, where orders are
sent at "Small Packet" Rate), an extra 7 to 10 days should be allowed. Thank you.
Finally, please note that as a very strict rule none of us are able to provide individual
lookups from the material on offer, however if the information supplied here isn't clear,
or for technical support further queries may be sent to the email address provided above.
This information is made available on GENUKI website by Rosemary Lockie, based on
information supplied by the advertisers. Please note that I have no personal involvement
with the items offered for sale, other than being a very satisfied customer.
Whilst I have taken every care to ensure the information I've supplied is accurate, I can
accept no responsibility for errors or omissions, nor for any subsequent loss suffered
by any reader as a result of information contained on the above page. Any transactions
entered into as a result of the information provided are between you and the
advertiser only. Thank you.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/DBY/ValNealCDs.html