WESTON UPON TRENT, Derbyshire
Census
- The parish was in the Melbourne sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2489 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2720 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Mary.
- The church was restored in 1877.
- The church seats 350.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- The Anglican parish registers date from 1565 and until 1586 are on paper, then ensues a gap till 1610, except a few entries in 1605.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Melbourne.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Melbourne sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"WESTON-UPON-TRENT is a small parish, in the same hundred as Shardlow, the village being about two miles south from Aston, and four from Shardlow. The Trent & Mersey canal passes through the parish - which is in the honour of Tutbury. One mile hence is Donington park, one of the seats of the Marquess of Hastings. The church is dedicated to St. Mary: the living is a rectory, in the patronage of Sir Robert Wilmot, Bart. The parish contained at the last census (1831), 387 inhabitants, being an increase only of seven persons since the returns made thirty years before."
[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]
Return to top of page
Directories
- A Description of Weston upon Trent
has been transcribed by Heather Faulkes from Pigot's Directory of 1828.
- Ann Andrews provides a transcription of the Weston upon Trent entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).
Return to top of page
Gazetteers
- The transcription of the section for Weston upon Trent from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This parish was in the ancient Morleston and Litchurch Hundred (or Wapentake).