Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Abbotsham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Abbotsham

"ABBOTSHAM (ST. HELEN), a parish, in the union of BIDEFORD, hundred of SHEBBEAR, Great Torrington and N divisions of DEVON, 2 miles (W ) from Bideford; containing, with the hamlets of Shepperton and Littleham, 414 inhabitants. This parish, which is situated on the shore of Barnstaple Bay, is distinguished for a memorable victory over the Danes, who besieged the fortress, caled Kenwith or Kenwic Castle, towards the close of the ninth century, on which occasion their main western army was routed, and 1200 of them, including their leader, slain, and their consecrated standard captured." [From Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England (1844)]

A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Business and Commerce Records

Listings of Licensed Victuallers for this parish are to be found here.

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon and NDA North Devon indexes - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Abbotsham area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

[Guide to] St. Helen's, Abbotsham, (1941) 4 pp. [North Devon Athenaeum: DP900/ABB]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1653, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1598, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for 1807-37 in PRO RG 4/954 (with Barnstaple circuit) and RG 4/955 (Bideford)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1598-1636 & 1653-1875 (partial), Marriages 1597-1875. (These entries are based in part on Bishops' transcripts.)

Granville, Roger & Mugford, W.E. (eds.) Abbotsham 1597-1602 and 1607-1636. Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644, and short notes on the extant pre-reformation registers of all the parishes in the county, from particulars furnished by the several incumbents thereof. Vol. 1 A-Bra. Exeter: W. Pollard (1908) [Full text].
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbotsham, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Bideford, Buckland Brewer, Bulkworthy, Clovelly, East Putford, Frithelstock, Hartland, Landcross, Littleham, Monkleigh, Northam, Parkham, Wear Gifford, Welcombe and West Woolfardisworthy. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Abbotsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Alverdiscott Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1775-1837; Alwington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bideford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Brewer Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bulkworthy Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1814-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clovelly Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Putford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1797-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Frithelstock Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Hartland Bapt: 1838-1839, Mar: 1558-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Landcross Bapt: 1814-1839, Mar: 1761-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Littleham Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Monkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Northam Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Parkham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1537-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Wear Gifford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Welcombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; West Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Abbotsham  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Abbotsham which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Ethelda Peshko, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs on Fiche.)

Burdick, Peter. Notes on the Devonshire Burdicks: [from Abbotsham, North Devon in the 18thc.]. (1994) [Devon FHS Library p929.2/BUR]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Abbotsham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Abbotsham to another place.

History

Davy, Mike, (Ed.). Social history of the village of Abbotsham 1860-1978, [Abbotsham?], [C. Babb] (1994). [Vol. of cuttings from the Bideford Gazette] [Westcountry Studies Library: sxB/ABB 5/1860/SOC]
Hoskins, W G. Devon Parish Notes. Abbotsham. Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries 26,4 (1954) pp. 1-2.
Lomas, H.A. History of Abbotsham. Bideford. Gazette Office (1956) 64p.
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Abbotsham, Devon. Typescript (1955) [2], 6 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]

Land and Property

Shebbeare, Claude E. Abbotsham Court in Bygone Days, Devon & Cornwall notes & Queries, vol. 11, no. 8, (1921) pp.289-295, plates: ill. & port. [Index]

Names, Personal

Listing of Abbotsham contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.