Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Arlington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Arlington

"A Village & Parish 6 miles NE of Barnstaple, it has 206 inhabitants & about 2000 acres of land, including the Hamlet of Becott nearly 2 miles north of the church. Sir John Palmer Bruce-Chichester [created Baronet in 1840] is Lord of the Manor & owner of most of the soil, has a handsome seat here called Arlington Court, but is at present in Malta ... He is patron of the rectory valued in KB at £13-18s-11½ d & in 1831 at £300. The Rev. James Hamilton Chichester is the incumbent & has a neat "Rectory House" & 85 acres of glebe ... The Church [St James] is an ancient structure containing many memorials of the Chichesters." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Shirlwell Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and Diocese of Exeter, 6¼ miles N.E. of Barnstaple, which had 235 inhabitants in 1831.

topup

Biography

Chichester, Francis. The romantic challenge, London, Cassell (1971) 194p: ill, maps pp. [ISBN: 0304938696]
Chichester, Rosalie. The diary of a child 1877-78 (ed. James S.Porterfield), Goodleigh, James S. Porterfield (1995) vi,74p: ill, port. [ISBN: 0952488701] [Westcountry Studies Library: s910.92/ARL/CHI]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS and Incledon indexes - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Arlington area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Licence for Papists to Leave Their Homes. Devon Notes and Queries 1 (1900-01) pp.199-200. [Raymond: Licence to John Chichester of Arlington, 1679.] [Transcript]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1598 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Society of Genealogists holds copies of the parish registers covering the years 1596-1643.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1598 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The members' area of the Devon FHS website makes available online images, not at present (Jan 2016) available elsewhere, of the Parish Registers covering Arlington Baptisms, marriages and burials: 1598-1797, Baptisms and burials: 1798-1812, Baptisms: 1813-1912, Marriages and banns: 1755-1812, Marriages: 1813-1839, Marriages: 1838-1914, Burials: 1814-1910.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Roman Catholic (Domestic chapel of Chichester Family, closed 1795): Registers for 1778+ (B), 1766+ (M), 1793+ (Confirmations) in Plymouth Diocesan Archives

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1640-1849 and Marriages 1671-1850.

Arlington Parish. The register of baptisms, marriages, and burials 1598-1850, Manuscript ((n.d.)) 88, [55] p. [North Devon Athenaeum: D929.3/ARL]
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Arlington, Ashford, Berrynarbor, Bittadon, Bratton Fleming, Braunton, Brendon, Challacombe, Charles, Combe Martin, Countisbury, East Buckland, East Down, Georgeham, Goodleigh, Heanton Punchardon, High Bray, Ilfracombe, Kentisbury, Loxhore, Lynton, Martinhoe, Marwood, Mortehoe, Parracombe, Shirwell, Stoke Rivers, Trentishoe, West Buckland and West Down. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Arlington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1814-1837; Ashford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1747-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Berrynarbor Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bittadon Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1754-1835, Bur: 1815-1843; Bratton Fleming Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Braunton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brendon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Challacombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1822-1848; Charles Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Combe Martin Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Countisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Buckland Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1839; East Down Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1839, Bur: 1813-1852; Georgeham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Goodleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Heanton Punchardon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; High Bray Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ilfracombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Kentisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1841, Bur: 1813-1837; Loxhore Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lynton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Martinhoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Marwood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Mortehoe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1837; Parracombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1598-1838, Bur: 1813-1838; Shirwell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Stoke Rivers Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Trentishoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; West Buckland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; West Down Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1840.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Arlington  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Arlington which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Arlington to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Chichester, Alex Palmer Bruce, Sir. History of the family of Chichester, from A.D 1086 to 1874 including the descents of the various branches settled at Raleigh, Youlston, Arlington, Widworthy, Calverleigh Hall, and elsewhere in Devonshire; also of the Chichesters, Marquesses of Donegal, and Barons Templemore. John Camden Hotten, 1871.
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Arlington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Arlington and the Chichesters - provided by John Lerwill.

Ayre, Henry G. The parish and church of Saint James, Arlington. [Arlington?]: [H.G.Ayre?] (1971) [12]p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p726.5/ARL/AYR]
Drake, Sir William R. Notes Genealogical, Historical and Heraldic, of the family of Chichester of Youlston Hall, and Arlington. (1875). [Westcountry Studies Library]
Arlington Court, Devon. - 5th ed. London: National Trust (1996) 48p: col ill, map.plan. [Westcountry Studies Library - p728.8/ARL/NAT]
topup

Land and Property

Indenture between Amias Chichester and Amias Carder et al (1609), transcribed by Desmond Painter.

Indenture between John Chichester and Ames Carder the Elder (1638), transcribed by Desmond Painter.

Declaration by Giles Chichester (1719) transcribed by Desmond Painter.

topup
topup

Probate Records

Will of Ames Carder (1654) transcribed by Desmond Painter.