Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Ashcombe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Ashcombe

"ASHCOMBE, a scattered village and parish, near the source of a rivulet, three miles E. of Chudleigh, has only 297 souls and about 2200 acres of land, including about 500A. of waste and plantations. Sir Rt. L. Newman, Bart., is lord of the manor and owner of most of the soil. The Church was repaired and partly rebuilt in 1825, at the cost of about £1000. It is a neat cruciform structure, with a tower and three bells, and a handsome east window of stained glass. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £18, and in 1831 at £247, is in the patronage of the Lord Chancellor, and incumbency of the Rev. W.H. Palk, M.A., who has 31A. of glebe, and a good thatched residence, with tasteful grounds. The tithes were commuted in 1842, for £242 per annum. In 1802, Robert Moalle left £3 a year for schooling poor children. The National School, for this parish and Mamhead, has a house for the teachers, and was built by the lord of the manor." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Exminster Hundred, and the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Cresswell, B.F. Notes on the Churches of the Deanery of Kenn, Devon, (1912). [Extracts]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ashcombe area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Ashcombe - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1732 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Society of Genealogists holds copies of the parish registers covering the years 1581-1837.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1581 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1562, 1581-1836, and Marriages 1583-1638, 1654-1836.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1841, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1783-1837 - for details see their book list.

Granville, Roger & Mugford, W.E. (eds.) Ashcombe, 1609-1636. Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644, and short notes on the extant pre-reformation registers of all the parishes in the county, from particulars furnished by the several incumbents thereof. Vol. 1 A-Bra. Exeter: W. Pollard (1908). [Full text]
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Alphington, Ashcombe, Bishopsteignton, Chudleigh, Combeinteignhead, Dawlish, Dunchideock, East Ogwell, East Teignmouth, Exminster, Haccombe, Ide, Kenn, Kenton, Mamhead, Powderham, Shaldon, Shillingford St. George, Starcross, Stokeinteignhead, St. Thomas the Apostle (by Exeter), Trusham, West Ogwell and West Teignmouth. Includes Chudleigh United Reformed Church and East Teignmouth Zion Independent Chapel Burials. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Alphington Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1812-1837; Ashcombe Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1754-1836 Bur: 1783-1837; Bishopsteignton Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Chudleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Chudleigh United Reformed Chapel Bur: 1834-1836; Combeinteignhead Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Dawlish Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Dunchideock Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1836 Bur: 1813-1851; East Ogwell Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; East Teignmouth Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; East Teignmouth Zion Independent Chapel Bur: 1809-1836; Exminster Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1836 Bur: 1813-1837; Haccombe Bapt: 1821-1842 Mar: 1773-1801 Bur: 1829-1839; Ide Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Kenn Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1836 Bur: 1813-1837; Kenton Bapt: 1813-1844 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Mamhead Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Powderham Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1835 Bur: 1785-1837; Shaldon Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Shillingford St. George Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1765-1837 Bur: 1680-1842; Starcross Bapt: 1815-1840 Mar: 1828-1837 Bur: 1828-1837; Stokeinteignhead Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1836 Bur: 1800-1837; St.Thomas the Apostle (by Exeter) Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Trusham Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1743-1837 Bur: 1750-1837; West Ogwell Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1843 Bur: 1813-1839; West Teignmouth Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Ashcombe  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Ashcombe which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ashcombe to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Godley, Jocelyn and Godley, Olive M. The Parr Family from Ashcombe and the Dipstale Family of Exeter, Devon Family Historian, vol. 143, (2012) pp.23-26.
Godley, Jocelyn and Godley, Olive M. The Parr Family from Ashcombe and the Dipstale Family of Exeter, Devon Family Historian, vol. 145, (2013) pp.13-15.
Godley, Olive M. and Godley, Jocelyn. The Parr and Dipstale Families, (2 vols.) [DFHS Library 929.2/PAR].
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ashcombe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Griffiths, Grace. The book of Dawlish: a history of Dawlish and Dawlish Warren with notes on the surrounding villages of Ashcombe, Cofton, Kenton, Mamhead, Powderham and Starcross. Buckingham: Barracuda (1984) [BL X.800/39475]
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Ashcombe contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Probate Records

Monday, A.J. Parr Family of Devonshire, and William Parre of Ashcombe. Western Antiquary 4 (1885) pp.10-11. [Will of William Parr, 1546.]