Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Ashreigney

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Ashreigney

"ASHREIGNY, or Ring's Ash, is a village and parish, 4 miles W. by S. of Chulmleigh, and contains 1088 souls, and 5586 acres of fertile land, including the hamlets of Riddlecombe, and Hayes. The Rev. P.T. Johnson, B.D., is lord of the manor, formerly belonging to the Reigny and other families, but part of the soil belongs to the Hon. Newton Fellowes, Mrs. Pyncombe's Trustees, Miss Carew, The Rev. S. Alford, the Rev. W.P. Thomas, and a few smaller owners. Here is an annual fair on the Wednesday after January 30th. The Church (St. James,) is an ancient structure with a tower and six bells; and the living is a rectory, valued in K.B. at £24, and in 1831 at £402. The Rev. P.T. Johnson is patron, and the Rev. G. Johnson is the incumbent, and has a good residence and 78A. of glebe. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ashreigney area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1838, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Among the records for this parish provided by Devon Heritage are transcripts of Burials for 1837-1867.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Bible Christian Ringsash Circuit: Registers for 1820-37 (ZC) in PRO RG 4/338; 1837-1948 (C) are at NDRO

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Ashreigney Baptisms 1754-1812, transcribed by Greg Sheere.

Ashreigney Burials 1653-1753, Burials 1754-1812 and Burials 1813-1867 transcribed by Greg Sheere.

Ashreigney Marriages 1654-1751, transcribed by Greg Sheere.

Ashreigney Marriages 1813-1837, transcribed by Elsie Person.

Transcription of Ringsash Bible Christian Baptisms 1820-1828 by Elizabeth Howard.

Ashreigney Bible Christian Church Baptisms for 1820-1837 are in the 5-CDROM LDS British Vital Records Index (1538-1888), (Item #50028).

Cole, Charles. H.B. (transcr.). Ashreigney parish registers. Photocopy (1982) 191p. [Westcounty Studies Library]
Granville, Roger & Mugford, W.E. (eds.) Ashreigney, 1607-1646. Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644, and short notes on the extant pre-reformation registers of all the parishes in the county, from particulars furnished by the several incumbents thereof. Vol. 1 A-Bra. Exeter: W. Pollard (1908). [Full text]
The Deanery of Torrington - An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashreigny, Beaford, Buckland Filleigh, Dolton, Dowland, Great Torrington, Huish, Iddesleigh, Langtree, Little Torrington, Meeth, Merton, Newton St. Petrock, Peters Marland, Petrockstowe, Roborough, Shebbear, Sheepwash, St. Giles in the Wood and Winkleigh. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2010) . [Ashreigny Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Beaford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Filleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Dolton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Dowland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1742-1837; Great Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Huish Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Iddesleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Langtree Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Little Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Meeth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Merton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Newton St. Petrock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Peters Marland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Petrockstowe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Roborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Shebbear Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sheepwash Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; St Giles in the Wood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Winkleigh Bapt: 1813-1853, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Ashreigney  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Ashreigney which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription of the complete entries in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850 and 1890.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ashreigney to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Cole, Charles. The Cole family of Ashreigny, Devonshire. 4 vols. Crediton: the author, 1997.
Turner, John S. Ashreigney to Mount Torrens. Australia: J.S.Turner (1982) x, 178, [4]p: ill, maps. [ISBN 0959307109]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ashreigney has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Article on an Ashreigney Ploughing Match of 1874, transcribed by Debbie Kennett.

Article A Day at the Races (at Ashreigny in 1874), transcribed by Debbie Kennett.

A Letter from the Reverend John Tossell Johnson (1790), transcribed by Debbie Kennett.

Harris, Fred (comp.) Ashreigney Parish incorporating Riddlecombe, Cottwood, & Bridge Reeve. Bideford, Devon: Edward Gaskell (2004) 223pp, many illustrations. [ISBN 189854672-X]
Johnson, R.H.K. Notes on the Parish and Church of St James, Ashreigney. Exeter: James Townsend & Sons (c1938) 8p. [Westcountry Studies Library: p726.5/ASH/JOH]
Partridge, C.J. Notes on the parish and church of St. James, Ashreigney. [Ashreigney?]: [The Church?] [1990?] 7p. ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p726.5/ASH/PAR]
topup

Land and Property

Index of Heads of Households in Devonshire: Ashreigney M-Z, P.O. Box 339, Blackburn, Victoria, Australia 3130, Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies (2000). [As recorded in Land Tax records 1780-1832]
topup
topup

Military History

World War I Memorial, transcribed by Debbie Kennett.

topup

Names, Personal

Ashreigney contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Probate Records

Will of Robert Knight (1812) transcribed by Ellen Quan.

Orme, Nicholas. Three Early Devon Wills. In Devon Documents (ed. T. Gray). Tiverton: Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, Special Issue (1996) [ISBN 0925836203] pp.136-141. [Re: John Ufflete, Woolfardisworthy East, 1416; John Shute, Ashreigny, 1437; William Richards, Churchstanton, 1532]
topup

Taxation

Hoskins, W.G. Devon Parish Notes. Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries 27 (1956-58) pp.144-149. [Includes Land Tax payers, 1800.]