Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Atherington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Atherington

"ATHERINGTON, a village and parish in the Taw valley, 8 miles W. by S. of South Molton, and E.N.E. of Torrington, has 629 souls, and 3325 acres of land, including the hamlets of Langridge and Eastacombe. A. Bassett, Esq., is lord of the manor of Umberleigh, which extends over this and High Bickington parish, and had an ancient chantry chapel, which was pulled down in 1800. Buriate is an estate belonging to Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge; and Wootton belongs to the representatives of the Melhuish family. The Church (St. Mary,) is a fine old structure, with several ancient monuments and brasses, and a carved oak screen, which was brought from Umberleigh chapel. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Cemeteries

Brown, Mike. Guide Notes to Monuments in Devon Churches & Graveyards: Chittlehampton, Atherington. 14pp. [Giffard, Bassett]

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Atherington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Atherington - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

The Church Monuments Society website provides photographs and transcripts of the monuments from a small but growing set of Devon churches, including Atherington - St Mary.

Chanter, John Frederick. Notes on the parish and church of Atherington, Typescript (1935) 10 pp. [North Devon Athenaeum: DP900ATH/CHA]
Rose, Lilian. St. Mary's, Atherington, Umberleigh, North Devon. Atherington: L. Rose (1973) 3p. [Barnstaple Library - 726.5/BN:ATH/ROS]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1800-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1541-1812 and Marriages 1548-1812.

Burials 1837 - 1857, 1858 - 1877, 1878 - 1897 and 1898 - 1917, provided by Devon Heritage.

Granville, Roger & Mugford, W.E. (eds.) Atherington, marriages, 1607. Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644, and short notes on the extant pre-reformation registers of all the parishes in the county, from particulars furnished by the several incumbents thereof. Vol. 1 A-Bra. Exeter: W. Pollard (1908). [Full text]
Deanery of Barnstaple - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2005). [Index of Atherington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Barnstaple: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Bishops Tawton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Chittlehampton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Filleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Fremington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), High Bickington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Horwood: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1654-1837), Burials (1675-1837), Huntshaw: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Instow: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Landkey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Newton Tracey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1570-1837), Burials (1725-1837), Pilton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Swimbridge: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Tawstock: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Westleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838) [Lookups]

Description and Travel

Umberleigh - from BBC Devon.

Section on Atherington from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Atherington which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is William Cooke.

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Hinchcliffe, Keith. Cousin Walt, Devon Family Historian, vol. 134, (2010) pp.36-38. [On the Champernowne family, originally of Umberleigh, and Sir Walter Raleigh]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Atherington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Atherington to another place.

Newspapers

Extracts from 18th and 19th Century newspapers, relating to Atherington, provided by Lindsey Withers.