Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Aylesbeare

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Aylesbeare

"AYLESBEARE is a small village on the eastern declivity of the bold range of hills between the vales of the Exe and the Otter, eight miles east of Exeter. Its parish contains 433 souls and 2948 acres of land, exclusive of NEWTON POPPLEFORD. . . . The manor of Aylesbeare was long held by the Courtenays as part of the barony of Okehampton. After the attainder of Sir Francis Englefield, one moiety of it was granted to the Earl of Essex, who sold it to the tenants. The other moiety, with a great part of the parish, belongs to the Trustees of the late Lord Rolle. The vicar has a small manor here, and Minchin Court, with one moiety of the great tithes, belongs to the Rev. H.W. Marker. The other moiety of the latter belongs to the rector of Huxham. John Divett, Esq., John Praed, Esq., the Rev. Samuel Walker, and several smaller owners have freehold estates here. The parish Church (St Christopher,) is an ancient structure, with a tower and three bells, and the living is a discharged vicarage, valued in K.B. at £16. 2s. 4d. and in 1831 at £155. The Rev. H.W. Marker is patron, and the Rev. W.H. Carwithen, M.A. is the present vicar, and has a neat thatched residence, and 59A. of glebe. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in East Budleigh Hundred, the Archdeaconry and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS and Incledon indexes - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Monumental inscriptions at St. Mary Aylesbeare. Devon Family History Society (1990) 16p.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aylesbeare area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1580 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1580 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The chapelry of Newton Poppleford (which see) had its christenings and marriages separately listed in the Aylesbeare Registers from 1580, though it did not become a separate parish until 1896.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1581-1854, and Marriages 1580-1639, 1653-1837.

Sellman, R.R. Aylesbeare with Newton Poppleford, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers to 1837/1854. Typescript 144p. [Westcountry Studies Library]
The Deanery of Aylesbeare: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Aylesbeare, Bicton, Branscombe, Broadclyst, Clyst Honiton, Clyst St.George, Clyst St.Mary, Colaton Raleigh, East Budleigh, Farringdon, Harpford, Huxham, Littleham, Lympstone, Otterton, Ottery St. Mary, Pinhoe, Poltimore, Rockbeare, Salcombe Regis, Sidbury, Sidmouth, Sowton, Stoke Canon, Topsham, Venn Ottery, Whimple, Withycombe Raleigh and Woodbury. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2012). [Aylesbeare Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bicton Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1755-1835, Bur: 1813-1852, Bur: 1725-1845 (BTs); Branscombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1545-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Broadclyst Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst Honiton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst St. George Bapt: 1813-1837, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1840, Bur: 1813-1837; Colaton Raleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Budleigh Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Budleigh Salem Chapel, Bur: 1832-1837; Farringdon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1852; Glenorchy Independent Exmouth, Bur: 1784-1818; Harpford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1809-1837; Huxham Bapt: 1813-1852, Mar: 1758-1836, Bur: 1813-1864; Littleham (near Exmouth) Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lympstone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Otterton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ottery St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Pinhoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1844, Bur: 1813-1838; Poltimore Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Rockbeare Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Salcombe Regis Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sidbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1830, Bur: 1813-1837; Sidmouth Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sowton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Stoke Canon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Topsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Venn Ottery Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Whimple Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Withycombe Raleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Woodbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Aylesbeare Parish Plan and Village Design Statement, from East Devon District Council.

Section on Aylesbeare from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Aylesbeare which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Aylesbeare to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Keith Searle, who invites queries and lookup requests.

Very interesting account, with much genealogical information, of the Trust fund set up by John Lovelace (b. Aylesbeare 1743), the only child of the Rev. John Lovelace and his wife Anna Maria Locke.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Aylesbeare has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Harris, Jean. Gunpowder Plot Aylesbeare 1852, Devon Family Hstorian, vol. 126, (2008) pp.4-7. [Account of the attempted murder of John Pidgeon and his sister Mary Fayter]
Senar, Howard. Aylesbeare: a Devon church and parish. Exeter, Devon: H. Senar, Penwell Ltd. (1986) 175 pp. ill. ISBN: 095119500X. [BL YA.1991.a.12320] [Original Index] [Detailed Index]
topup
topup

Taxation

Hemp and Flax Bounty papers (1789), transcribed by Brian Brassett.