GENUKI: Bampton, Devon

Hide

Click on map to view parish boundaries in detail.

Hide

hide

Hide

"BAMPTON is a small ancient market town, chiefly built of stone, in the deep valley of the small river Batherm, about a mile above its confluence with the Exe, 6½ miles N. of Tiverton, and 9 miles S.W. of Wivelscombe. Its parish contains 2049 inhabitants, and 7785 acres of land, divided into the Eastern, Western, Petton, and Town Quarters, and comprising the hamlets of PETTON and SHILLINGFORD; many scattered farm-houses, &c., and several extensive limestone quarries. . . . The sheep bred in this neighbourhood are remarkable for their size, and great numbers of them are sold at Bampton fairs. The woollen trade was formerly carried on here, but it began to decline in 1772, and was given up many years ago. . . . John Collins, Esq., who is about to erect a mansion at Wonham, is now lord of the manor; and at the court leet, a portreeve, bailiff, &c., are appointed; but the parish is all freehold, and belongs to many other proprietors, the largest of whom are, S.T. Lucas, Esq., C. Rowliffe, Esq., Dr. Troyte, the Trustees of the late Lord Rolle, Thos. Daniel, Esq., H. and R. Badcock, Esqrs., M.B. Bere, Esq., the Nutcombe family, and J. Brown, Esq. Hy. Badcock has a pleasant seat here, called Combhead. The Church (St. Michael) is a large ancient structure, with a tower and six bells. . . . Petton Chapel, about four miles N.E. of the town, is a small chapel of ease, which was built in 1847; but that at Shillingford has been delapidated many years. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Bampton Hundred, the Archdeaconry and the Diocese of Exeter.

Hide

Biography

Luxton, Brian C. Thomas Luxton (1824-1893) of Petton, Devon and Palmyra, Ontario, Devon Family Historian, vol. 124, (2007) pp.15-17.

Cemeteries

A comprehensive survey of all the gravestones in the churchyard of St Michael & All Angels, Bampton.

Russ Davies has provided a large number of zoomable photographs of graves in the St. Michael and All Angels Churchyard, on the Find A Grave website.

Census

Bampton Births 1814-1833, compiled from the 1841 and 1851 census records, by Russ Davies.

Bampton strays to Wales, compiled from the 1851-1901 census returns, by Russ Davies.

Census entries allegedly for "Brampton, Devon" and "Bampton, Somerset" which may in fact relate to Bampton, Devon.

Churches

**Anglican**
St George, Shillingford St George, Church of England
St Michael and All Angels, Bampton, Church of England
St Petrock, Petton, Church of England

Church History

Bampton - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Francis, T.J. The Religious History of the Parish of Bampton, Devon, Fort Press (2001). [ISBN 0 9535674 1 9] [Incumbents] [Churchwardens] [Baptist ministers]

M., R.B. and Chalk, E.S. Petton, near Bampton, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, vol. 13, no. 5, (1925) pp.211. [St Petroc's chapel 1368, rebuilt 1848. See also vol.13, p.160]

Odell, Ralph. Petton Chapel Centenary 1901-2001, (2001). [DFHS Library p942.35/PET]

Watkin, Hugh R. Petton, near Bampton, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, vol. 13, no. 5, (1925) pp.211-213. [Petton Chapel - from cartulary of Torre Abbey. See also vol.13, p.160]

Whitley, H Michell. Dial on Bampton Church. Devon & Cornwall Notes and Queries vol. VII, (1912-1913), Exeter: James G. Commin. 1913, illus. pp. 209-210. [Transcript]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1838 - for details see their Devon Parish List.

Petton is a chapel in this parish with separate registers after 1701, but without separate BT's. Transcripts of these registers are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

St Petrock, Petton (Chapelry until 1789): Registers for 1701-1926 (C) 1701-1739 (M), 1701-1812 (B) at DRO
Shillingford (ancient chapel): Registers for 1701-1812 (C), 1701-1739 (M), 1701-1812 (B) with those of Petton at DRO
Baptist Chapel: Registers for 1807-36 (ZCB) in PRO RG 4/957; 1934 (M) at DRO

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Petton Chapel Christenings 1701-1837, Marriages 1701-1750, High Street Baptist Chapel Christenings 1807-1837.

Transcripts of Bampton Baptisms 1653-1749, Baptisms 1750-1849, Baptisms 1850-1879, Baptisms 1880-1932, Marriages 1698-1754, Burials 1653-1779 and Burials 1780-1937 by Russ Davies.

Transcript of Bampton Deaths 1813-1867 extracted from newspapers, by Russ Davies.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bampton, Bickleigh, Burlescombe, Calverleigh, Clayhanger, Culmstock, Halberton, Hockworthy, Holcombe Rogus, Huntsham, Loxbeare, Morebath, Petton Chapelry, Sampford Peverell, Tiverton St. Peter, Tiverton Cove, Uffculme, Uplowman, Washfield and Willand. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White’s Directory (1850) and Kelly’s Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM 064, Exeter, Devon FHS (2016). [Bampton Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1814-1838; Bickleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1800-1837; Burlescombe Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1838 Bur: 1813-1837; Calverleigh Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clayhanger Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1833 Bur: 1750-1852; Culmstock Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Halberton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Hockworthy Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1759-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Holcombe Rogus Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1844 Bur: 1813-1837; Huntsham Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1750-1838; Loxbeare Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1983; Morebath Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Petton Chapelry Bampton Parish Bapt: 1813-1839 Bur: 1813-1861; Sampford Peverell Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Tiverton St Peter Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Tiverton Cove Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1682-1837 Bur: 1815-1837; Uffculme Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1783-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Uplowman Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Washfield Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Willand Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837.]

Granville, Roger & Mugford, W.E. (eds.) Bampton, 1609-1617. Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644, and short notes on the extant pre-reformation registers of all the parishes in the county, from particulars furnished by the several incumbents thereof. Vol. 1 A-Bra. Exeter: W. Pollard (1908). [Full text]

Bampton and Petton Chapel Burials, 1813-1838. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2001).

Baptisms from Bishops Transcripts: Bampton 1813-1838. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2013).

Court Records

Register of Freeholders - Axminster, Bampton & Black Torrington c1816, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF D125). [Foreword]

Description & Travel

The Bampton web-site: Bampton in Bloom.

Conservation Area Appraisal for Bampton - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

Section on Bampton (& Peyton) from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Bampton: the official guide, Croydon, Home Publishing Co. (1949) iii, 20p: ill, maps. [Westcountry Studies Library: pB/BAM/1949/BAM]

You can see pictures of Bampton which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of the entry in Pigot's Devonshire Directory of 1844.

Emigration & Immigration

Browning, Jane. A Link with British Guiana and the White Family, Devon Family Historian, vol. 171, (2019) pp.32-36. [Letters from Thomas White, bap. Bampton between1769 and 1786.]

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bampton to another place.

Genealogy

For genealogical assistance related to Bampton families, contact Tom McManamon at <fortpress1[at]tiscali.co[dot]uk>.

Adam, Mrs. S. Searching for Alfred, Devon Family Historian, vol. 170, (2019) p.46.[Alfred Greenslade b. c1840]

Geare, Ralph Holwell. Holwells of Bampton, Tiverton, Sampford Peverell and Bradninch. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 26, 1954-55, pp. 8-10.

Hodge, Rosalind. A Tale of Two Richards, Devon Family Historian, vol. 145, (2013) p.11. [Richard Blake of Winsford (d. 1842), and his stepson Richard Blake of Bampton.]

Luxton, Brian C. My Father's People. Grosvenor House Publishing Limited (2019) 812pp. [ISBN-13: 978-1786234254][Detailed account of the Frogpit Moor, Petton branch of the Luxton family.]

The Painels of Bampton, Notes and Queries for Somerset and Dorset 17, 1923, pp. 201-04, 246-47, & 287-90.

History

History pages of the Bampton in Devon website.

Old photographs of Bampton, provided by Adrienne Besley.

Portrait of Bampton, Devon, in the Eighteenth Century by Tom McManamon, provided by the Friends of Devon Archives.

The Bampton local historian, Tom McManamon is compiling a significant database of local names associated with Bampton's history. You can contact him via email at local.history[at]bampton.org[dot]uk.

Collier-Lovell, Frances. Bampton Fair - and a Little Bit More. Frances Collier-Lovell (2007) 128 pp. [ISBN 1-4251-3319-3]

Francis, T.J. A Short History of Bampton, Devon. [Bampton]: T.J.Francis (1995) 28p. [ISBN ISBN 0 9535674 00] [Westcountry Studies Library]

Francis, T.J. The industrial heritage of Bampton, Devon: roads, the mail, quarries, leatherworking, sheep & the wool trade, markets & fairs. Tiverton: Fort Press, (2006) 52pp. [ISBN 09953567427] [Subject Index]

Francis, T.J. A New Short History of Bampton, Devon. [Bampton]: Fort Press (2007) 28p. [ISBN 978 0 9535674 5 4] [Rev. ed. of Francis (1995)]

Francis, T.J. Roman to 17th Century Bampton, Devon; including the Romans, Saxon and Norman Occupations, the Knights Templar, the Roman Fort, Bampton Castle, and the Borough of Bampton. Tiverton: Fort Press, (2008.) 52pp. [ISBN 978-0-9535674-3-0] [Name Listings] [Details]

Reichel, Oswald J. The "Domesday" hundreds of Devon: VII. and VIII. The Hundreds of Bampton and Ufculm, Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol. 30, (1898) pp.434-457. [Index]

The Book of Bampton (Halsgrove Community History Series), Halsgrove House, Lower Moor Way, Tiverton, Devon, EX16 6SS, UK, Halsgrove Publishing (1998) [ISBN 1-85522-646-6] [Index]

Maps

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS956221 (Lat/Lon: 50.988802, -3.488831), Bampton which are provided by:

OpenStreetMap
Google Maps
StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
Bing (was Multimap)
Old Maps Online
National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Military History

Great War Roll of Honour, transcribed by Tom McManamon.

Names, Personal

Persons named in Bampton Churchwardens' Accounts (1712-1810), provided by Tom McManamon.

Name Listings from Roman to 17th Century Bampton, Devon (Lay Subsidy Roll 1332, Muster Roll 1539, Tax Returns 1524 and 1543, Protestation Return 1641).

Names of Cloth and Leather Trade Workers, from The industrial heritage of Bampton.

Newspapers

Newspaper extracts relating to Bampton (1818-1945), compiled by Russ Davies.

Probate Records

Wills of Daniel Badcock (1838), William Baker (1829), Richard Bowden (1803), Sarah Branscombe (1846), John Cherry (1827), William Cleeve (1838), George Davey (1825), Maria Davey (1857), James Edbrook (1852), Elizabeth Escott (1850), John Escott (1849), Thomas Greenslade Escott (1854), Robert Henry Farrant (1848), Thomas Farrant (1848), Susan Gale (1857), William Hawkins (1843), John Hill (1830), William Hill (1837), Thomas Langdon (1855), Thomas Luxton (1817), John Merson (1842), John Surridge (1846), William Trickey (1848) and Thomas Wood (1784), transcribed by Russ Davies.

Wills of William Merson (1839) and Betty Merson (1843), transcribed by Martha Merson Frost.

Wills of Richard Ford Gibbings (1851), and William Gibbings (1859) transcribed by Diana Ingram.

Will of Jane Blackmore (1658), transcribed by Elizabeth Kipp.

Will of George Venman (1650), transcribed by Ros Dunning.

Will of Humphrey Fugars (1587), transcribed by Pam Simons.

Baker, J. Bampton. Devon Family Historian 39 (1986) p.25. [Will of Elizabeth Crudge of Bampton.]

Societies

The Bampton Society (archived copy) - "a civic society dedicated to the conservation of Bampton".

Taxation

Bampton Hundred: Hearth Tax 1662-4, and Hearth Tax 1674 transcribed by Mark Brewer

Howard, A.J. Lay subsidy roll: county of Devon 1524: Halberton hundred ...Bampton hundred...West Budleigh hundred...Hayridge hundred...Tiverton hundred, Typescript (1968). [D&CRS Library, Exeter: P1524]