Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Bradworthy

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Bradworthy

"BRADWORTHY, a scattered village, near the sources of the small river Waldon, 6½ miles N. by W. of Holsworthy, has in its parish 1081 souls, and 9856 acres of land, including a large portion of hilly moorland, and the small hamlets of Denworthy, Alfardisworthy, Kimsworthy, and Youlston. A fair is held in the village on September 9th. The manor, with a fair on St. John's day, was granted to Lord Brewer by King John. After passing to various families, the manor was sold in severalities, and it now belongs to C.H. Hotchkys, Esq., the Trustees of the late L.S. Ashton, A.B. Wren, Esq., and a few smaller freeholders. The Church (St. John,) is an ancient structure, with a tower and five bells, and the living is a vicarage, valued in K.B. at £25. 5s. 5d., and in 1831 at £283, with the perpetual curacy of Pancrasweek annexed to it. The patronage is in the Crown, and the Rev. J.B. Clyde, B.A., is the incumbent, and has a good residence, and 25A. 2R. 3P. of glebe. . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Black Torrington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Grylls, Richard G. Grace Grill's Letter to Canada, Devon Family Historian, vol. 121, (2007) pp.12-14. [Transcript of an 1851 letter from Grace Grylls (née Hockin?) of Bradworthy]

Cemeteries

Aldridge, N. Monumental Inscriptions in St John's Churchyard, Bradworthy, (1999) [DFHS 929.5/DEV]
Collacott, C. Bradworthy Soldiers and Centenarians, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, vol. 30, (1965-67) pp.169.
Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

Census

Transcription of the 1841 census, by Nicola Aldridge.

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bradworthy area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Bradworthy - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1548 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1548 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1817-37 - see Holsworthy (PRO RG 4/1210)
  • Bible Christian Chapel: Registers for c1838-95 - see Kilkhampton (Cornwall) Bible Christian Circuit (Cornwall Record Office)
  • Bible Christian Chapel, Attworthy: Registers for c1838-95 - see Kilkhampton (Cornwall) Bible Christian Circuit (Cornwall Record Office)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1592-1860, Marriages 1548-1860.

Elizabeth Howard offers look-ups of Devon strays among the Bible Christians' Kilkhampton (Cornwall) Circuit.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbots Bickington, Ashwater, Black Torrington, Bradford, Bradworthy, Bridgerule, Clawton, Cookbury, Halwill, Hollacombe, Holsworthy, Luffincott, Milton Damerel, Pancrasweek, Pyworthy, Sutcombe, Tetcott, Thornbury, West Putford and Holsworthy Weslyan Burials. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850), Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902) and A Topographical Dictionary of England, Samuel Lewis (1831), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Abbots Bickington Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1770-1833 Bur: 1813-1837; Ashwater Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Black Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bradford Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1705-1837; Bradworthy Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bridgerule Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clawton Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Cookbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1841; Halwill Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1843; Hollacombe Bapt: 1813-1898 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1852; Holsworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1860 Bur: 1813-1837; Holsworthy Weslyan Bapt: 1812-1831; Luffincott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1814-1840; Milton Damerel Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1761-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pancrasweek Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pyworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Sutcombe Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Tetcott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1813-1837; Thornbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; West Putford Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1838.]
Toms, H.N.W, Collacott, C.T. and R. Walter (transcr.). Bradworthy, Devon, the registers of the Parish Church of St. John the Baptist, 1548-1860, Typescript (1972) 222 pp. [Devon Record Office, SoG Library, LDS 942.35/B3 K29c]
Toms, H.N.W and R. Walter (transcr.). Bradworthy, Devon : a supplement to the parish registers; being baptisms of persons of Bradworthy listed in non-parochial registers of Bible Christian, Wesleyan and Wesleyan-Methodist circuits in northwest Devon and north Cornwall in the period 1816-1909, Typescript (1972) 52 pp. [LDS 942.35/B3 K28]

Court Records

Fourtie articles in the High Court of Parliament against William Lang. London: for Tho. Bates, (1641) 8pp. [Westcountry Studies Library: p920/LAN] [Transcription]
Judd, Robert. To the Right Honorable the Knights, Citizens, and Burgesses, assembled in the Commons House this present Parliament. The humble Petition of R. Judd for and on behalf of himself, and the rest of the Parishioners of Bradworthie, in the County of Devon. In : Lang (William) Vicar of Bradworthy. Fourtie articles in Parliament against William Lang, etc. [1642?] [BL E.132.(25.)]

Description and Travel

Bradworthy web site - descriptive and historical information, maps, etc.

Section on Bradworthy from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Blower, W.H.I. Bradworthy. Devon Life vol. 6 no. 46 (1970) pp.30-31; ill.
You can see pictures of Bradworthy which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Nicola Aldridge, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: Censuses 1841-91; MIs; Newspaper items etc.)

Crissey, John Thorne. The Bradworthy, Devon, Harris family : updated, expanded, edited, indexed and computerized by John Thorne Crissey, M.D. from the 1986 original of Mrs. Mervyn Lobb San Marino, Calif. : [J.T. Crissey], (1997) iv, 455 pp. [929.271 H24L supp. 1997]
Grills, Clifford T. Bradworthy to the Barabool Hills: the history of the Walter family. Geelong: Henwood & Dancy, 1985.
Lobb, Jean. The Bradworthy, Devon, Harris family. [Ontario: Harris family tree committee, 1986] 361 pp. : ill., maps, ports. [LDS 929.271 H24L]
Sachville, Heanton. Yeo, of Bradworthy. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 8:1, (1914) pp.11-14.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bradworthy has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bradworthy to another place.

History

Cann, T. and Collacott, C. Bradworthy in the Twentieth Century, The Authors (2001). [Devon FHS Library 942.35/BRA]
Collacott, C.T. Bradworthy Soldiers and Centenarians. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 30 (1965-67) p.169.
Collacott, Cecil T. Bradworthy and its borderland: a tour of the upper Torridge countryside: its old villages, churches, historic houses ... [s.l.]: [s.n.] [197-?] 32p: ill. [Barnstaple Library - BT:BRA 4/0001/COL]
Collacott, Cecil T. Memories of Old Bradworthy. Jamaica Press, Hartland (1979) 51p: ill.
Collacott, Cecil T. Bradworthy past and present. Bradworthy: The Author (1991) 25p: ill.
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Bradworthy, Devon. Typescript (1963) 9 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]

Land and Property

Transcription of an Lease agreement between Thomas Yeo and Grace Walter (1788) provided by Elizabeth Howard.

Names, Personal

Transcription by J.M. Jolliffe of the Bradworthy section of the Devon Protestation Return (1642) held in the House of Lords Record Office.