Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Bratton Fleming

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Bratton Fleming

"BRATTON FLEMING, a pleasant village, on an acclivity 6½ miles E.N.E. of Barnstaple, has in its parish 708 souls, and 3940 acres of land, rising in a bold range of hills from two rivulets, and including many scattered farm-houses. It anciently belonged to the Fleming family, and afterwards to the Dillons. The latter sold the manor in the reign of Jas. I., to an ancestor of its present owner, Sir Arthur Chichester, Bart. Part of the parish belongs to Sir P.F.P. Acland, G.B. Kingdon, Esq., and a few smaller owners. Chimwell, the ancient seat of the Flemings and Dillons, is now a farm-house. The Church (St. Peter,) is a neat structure, in the perpendicular style, with a tower and six bells." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Braunton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Radford. Lady. Henry de Bracton: a plea for remembrance. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 54, (1922) pp.205-215. [Lawyer]
Willcocks, W K. Henry de Bracton. Vol. 15, Trans. Devon. Assoc. (1883), pp. 180-195. [Index]

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Payne, Charles. Monumental Inscriptions - St Peters. (1993) [DFHS p 929.5]

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Church History

Bratton Fleming church web-site (archived copy).

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1673 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1673 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1800-1837 - for details see their book list.

The members' area of the Devon FHS website makes available online images, not at present (Jan 2016) available elsewhere, of the Parish Registers covering Bratton Fleming Baptisms, marriages and burials: 1673-1782, Baptisms and burials: 1781-1812, Baptisms: 1813-1861, Baptisms: 1861-1915, Marriages:Banns: 1754-1810, Marriages: 1813-1837, Burials: 1813-1913.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1807-37 - see Barnstaple circuit (PRO RG 4/954)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1673-1850 and Marriages 1673-1837.

Granville, Roger & Mugford, W.E. (eds.) Bratton Fleming, 1560-1656. Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644, and short notes on the extant pre-reformation registers of all the parishes in the county, from particulars furnished by the several incumbents thereof. Vol. 1 A-Bra. Exeter: W. Pollard (1908). [Full text]
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Arlington, Ashford, Berrynarbor, Bittadon, Bratton Fleming, Braunton, Brendon, Challacombe, Charles, Combe Martin, Countisbury, East Buckland, East Down, Georgeham, Goodleigh, Heanton Punchardon, High Bray, Ilfracombe, Kentisbury, Loxhore, Lynton, Martinhoe, Marwood, Mortehoe, Parracombe, Shirwell, Stoke Rivers, Trentishoe, West Buckland and West Down. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Arlington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1814-1837; Ashford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1747-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Berrynarbor Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bittadon Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1754-1835, Bur: 1815-1843; Bratton Fleming Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Braunton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brendon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Challacombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1822-1848; Charles Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Combe Martin Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Countisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Buckland Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1839; East Down Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1839, Bur: 1813-1852; Georgeham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Goodleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Heanton Punchardon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; High Bray Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ilfracombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Kentisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1841, Bur: 1813-1837; Loxhore Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lynton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Martinhoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Marwood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Mortehoe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1837; Parracombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1598-1838, Bur: 1813-1838; Shirwell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Stoke Rivers Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Trentishoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; West Buckland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; West Down Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1840.]

Description and Travel

Section on Bratton Fleming from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Bratton Fleming which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is John Fisher, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: Prs on fiche Bap. 1673 - 1861; Mar. 1673 - 1837; Burials 1673 - 1910.)

The Hunts, and Chelfham Farm Bratton Fleming, by David Cawsey.

Gregory, A. & D. Fred and Lilian Lorraine of New Bedford USA 1861-1945, The Authors (2003). [Ridd family] [Devon FHS Library p929.2/LOR]
Thomson, H.C. The Thomson story. Yeovil: Variprint (1970) 68p.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bratton Fleming has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bratton Fleming to another place.

History

David Cawsey has prepared pages on various aspects of Bratton Fleming and its history.

Terry Squire, From slate to software: the story of a Devon village school [Bratton Fleming]. Barnstaple: T. & S. M. Squire (c1994).
Whybrow, Charles. A history of Bratton Fleming. Typescript (1982) 2 vols. [Westcountry Studies Library - xB/BRA 7/0001/WHY]
Wodehouse, C.L. Records of Bratton Fleming. 1066-1876. A. Tomes: Leamington, (1907) 15 pp. [BL: 010347.m.18.(11.)]
Wodehouse, Christine. Bratton Fleming. Typescript [1980?] 145 leaves: ill, maps. [Westcountry Studies Library - xB/BRA 7/0001/WOO]
Short history of Bratton Fleming 1068-1978. [s.l.]: [s.n.] (1978) 5p. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/BRA 7/0001/SHO]
Sources for Village History - Bratton Fleming. Barnstaple: North Devon Record Office (1994) ISBN 1855223155

Names, Personal

Bratton Fleming contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Occupations

Bratton Fleming Apprentice Register 1742-1775. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2013). [Foreword]

Taxation

Transcription of the Land Tax assessment for 1780 by David Cawsey.