Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Brixton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Brixton

"BRIXTON, a pleasant village, 4½ miles E. of Plymouth, has in its parish 822 souls, and 2865 acres of fertile land, bounded on the south-east by the Yealm estuary, and including the small hamlets of Spriddleston, Hareston, Winston, and Coombe. The manor of Brixton, anciently called Britricheston, was long held by a family of its own name, but was dismembered many years ago. T.W. Parrott, Esq., is lord of the manor of Hareston, which he derived from the Winters. This manor was successively held by the Reynald, Hareston, Silverlock, and Wood families. . . . Mr. Elliott is lord of the manor of Spriddleston, which has been held successively by the Spriddle, Fortescue, Lane, and other families. E.R.P. Bastard and Sir T.T.F.E. Drake own a great part of the parish, the former having Wollaton, and the latter the Sherford estate. The Church has a lofty tower and five bells, and is an ancient structure in the decorated style. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Plympton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter. Regarded as part of the South Hams area.

Biography

Williams, Daphne L. and Ann Evans. Kept in Memory. Brixton (1997). [Biog. notes on those listed on the War Memorial - available from Ann Evans, 2 Horn Lane, Brixton, Plymouth PL8 2AB]

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St Mary is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 8 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M23).

Jewers. Arthur J. Brixton Church. Western Antiquary 10, 3-4 (1890) pp.27-29, 59-64, 96-101.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Brixton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Wilson, Francis Rought. The History of St Mary's Church, Brixton, South Devon. London: SPCK (1926) 53p,plates: ill.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1668 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1828 - for details see their book list.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the Deanery of Plympton. with photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2007). [Brixton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Cornwood: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Ermington: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1838), Bur (1813-1837 ), Harford: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1755-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Holbeton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Ivybridge: Bapt (1835-1840), Mar (1835-1840), Bur (1836-1840), Kingston: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837), Modbury: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Newton Ferrers: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837)), North Huish: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Mary: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Maurice: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plymstock: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Revelstoke: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Shaugh Prior: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1835), Ugborough: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1841), Bur (1813-1837), Wembury: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1612-1837), Bur (1813-1840), Yealmpton: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837)]

Description and Travel

Section on Brixton from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Brixton which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription of the entry in White's Devonshire Directory (1850) by Terry Partridge.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Samantha Tucker, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Listing of Resources.)

Coffin, Allen. The life of Tristram Coffin of Nantucket, Mass. Founder of the family line in America.. Nantucket: Hussey & Robinson, (1881) 64 pp. [Index]
Mugford, W.E. Tristram Coffin of Brixton, Devon, Devon Notes and Queries 2, 1902-3, pp. 142-4. [17th c. pedigree.] [Index]
Prideaux, F.B. An ancient Fulford deed. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 12:7, (1923) pp.299. [Refers to vol.12, p.113.] [Sprydel Family]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Brixton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Brixton to another place.

History

Clamp, Arthur L. Some bygone scenes of Brixton & its people. Plymouth: P D S Printers (1990) 32p: ill,maps.
Lane, Richard. A history of the parish of Brixton. MSS. (1880?) 274p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/BRI 9/0001/LAN]
Rowe, J. Brooking. Brixton: extracts from deeds, parish registers, pedigrees etc. Manuscript (1875?) 1 vol. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/BRI 9/0001/ROW

Occupations

Chiswell, Ann. Brixton apprenticeship records. Plymouth: The Author (1988) [1], 4, 4p. [Plymouth Library - 965BRI]