Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Buckland Brewer

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Buckland Brewer

"BUCKLAND-BREWER, a large village, 5 miles W. by N. of Great Torrington, has in its parish 1103 souls and 5652 acres of land, including the hamlets of Bilsford, Galsworthy, and Tithacot, and many scattered houses. It had formerly a weekly market on Wednesday, granted to the abbot of Dunkeswell in 1290, but it has long been obsolete. Two fairs are held in the village, on Whit-Tuesday and the third Monday in November. The trustees of the late Lord Rolle are lords of the manor, which was given by the Brewer or Briwere family to Tor and Dunkeswell Abbeys. Mrs. and the Rev. J.M. Stevens, J.H. Lee, Esq., and several smaller owners, have estates in the parish. The Church (St. Mary and St. Benedict,) is a large antique structure, with a lofty tower and five bells. It stands on an eminence, commanding a view of the Bristol Channel." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Harpley, W. Obituary notices: John Ingle Dredge. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 30, (1898) pp.42-43. [Clergy, 1818-1897]
Watkin, Hugh R. Captain John Hanning Speke. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 13:1, (1924) pp.30-31. [1827-1864] [Discovered source of Nile. D.N.B. error corrected. See vol. 14, pp.298.]

Business and Commerce Records

Listings of Licensed Victuallers for this parish are to be found here.

Cemeteries

Transcripts of gravestones in the three churchyards in Buckland Brewer are provided by the Buried in Buckland Project.

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Church History

Rouge et Noir. Vicars of Buckland Brewer. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 20, 6 (1939) pp.269-270.
Snetzler, Marjorie. Buckland Brewer Methodist Chapel: A century of celebration 1903-2003, M. Snetzler (2003). [DFHS Library - p942.35/BUC]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1603 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1603 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1604-1836, Marriages 1606-1837.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbotsham, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Bideford, Buckland Brewer, Bulkworthy, Clovelly, East Putford, Frithelstock, Hartland, Landcross, Littleham, Monkleigh, Northam, Parkham, Wear Gifford, Welcombe and West Woolfardisworthy. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Abbotsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Alverdiscott Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1775-1837; Alwington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bideford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Brewer Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bulkworthy Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1814-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clovelly Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Putford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1797-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Frithelstock Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Hartland Bapt: 1838-1839, Mar: 1558-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Landcross Bapt: 1814-1839, Mar: 1761-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Littleham Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Monkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Northam Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Parkham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1537-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Wear Gifford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Welcombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; West Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Buckland Brewer from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Buckland Brewer which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Janet Few, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Village resident.)

John Lerwill's account of the Galsworthy family, which originated in Buckland Brewer.

Buckland Brewer One Place Study information.

Blight, Raymond. Buckland Brewer to Ontario - More on the Prouse Family, Devon Family Historian, vol. 144, (2012) pp.21-22.
Jackson, Sue and Adams, Rod. The Tallamys of Devon, Devon Family Historian, vol. 128, (2008) pp.11-12. [Of various North Devon parishes, particularly Moretonhampstead, and also Frithelstock and Buckland Brewer.]
Taylor, Edmund Denison. The Taylor Family of Riseley, Co. Bedford, St. Neots, Co. Huntingdon, City of Oxford, Buckland Brewer, Co. Devon, Loughborough, Co. Leicester. [With illustrations, including portraits.]. pp. 35. W. Thornley & Sons: Leicester (1933). 8o. BL 9918.c.40.

Heraldry

Benson, J. Arms in Buckland Brewer Church. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 23 (1947-49) pp.88-90.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Buckland Brewer has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Buckland Brewer to another place.

History

The History of Buckland Brewer, by Janet Few.

Blight, Leonard P. Buckland Brewer in the nineteen twenties. Buckland Brewer: L.P.Blight (1990) [36]p: ill. [Barnstaple Library - BT:BUC 3/1920/BLI]
Rogers, William Henry. Buckland Brewer. (1938) [Westcountry Studies Library] [Facsimile reprint, Mrs M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer (2000)]

Land and Property

Transcript of a 1620 lease of land in Buckland Brewer to Humfrye Trowbridge (Somerset) and Thomas Brinsmead (St Giles) from John Pedler.

Rogers, W.H. Orleigh: an ancient house. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 58, (1926) pp.185-192.

Societies

Buckland Brewer History Group - website - provides extensive historical and genealogy-related material.