Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Buckland Filleigh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Buckland Filleigh

"BUCKLAND-FILLEIGH is a village and parish, 6½ miles W.N.W. of Hatherleigh, containing 275 souls, and 3037 acres of land, nearly all the property of Lord Ashburton and Lord Clinton, the former of whom owns the manor of Buckland-Filleigh, and has a pleasant seat here, formerly the residence of the Filleigh and Fortescue families. Lord Clinton owns the manor and barton of Hartleigh, by inheritance from the Rolles. This estate includes part of Heanton deer park. The Church (St. Mary,) is a beautiful little structure, standing close to Lord Ashburton's mansion, and containing several handsome monuments of the Fortescue family." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Church History

Foulkes, R. Fortescue. Rectors of St Mary and Holy Trinity, Buckland Filleigh. Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries 20, 6 (1939) pp.269-270.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1619 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1619, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1603, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1603-1837 and Marriages 1603-1612, 1626-1837.

Taylor, Jane. Buckland Filleigh: Transcripts of parish registers 1626-1837, The Author (2002). [Devon FHS Library p929.3/PAR-Buc]
The Deanery of Torrington - An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashreigny, Beaford, Buckland Filleigh, Dolton, Dowland, Great Torrington, Huish, Iddesleigh, Langtree, Little Torrington, Meeth, Merton, Newton St. Petrock, Peters Marland, Petrockstowe, Roborough, Shebbear, Sheepwash, St. Giles in the Wood and Winkleigh. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2010) . [Ashreigny Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Beaford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Filleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Dolton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Dowland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1742-1837; Great Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Huish Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Iddesleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Langtree Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Little Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Meeth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Merton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Newton St. Petrock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Peters Marland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Petrockstowe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Roborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Shebbear Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sheepwash Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; St Giles in the Wood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Winkleigh Bapt: 1813-1853, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Shebbear and Buckland Filleigh community website.

Section on Buckland Filleigh from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Buckland Filleigh which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Jane Taylor, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs 1626-1837.)

Hayward, Karen. Samuel Hayward, The Resident Nephew, and the Pitfalls of Family Bible Records, Devon Family Historian, vol. 136, (Nov 2010) pp.35-37. [Samuel Hayward was the nephew, and lived with, Ann Pool (née Sanders, born Buckland Filleigh in the late 1800s.]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Buckland Filleigh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Buckland Filleigh to another place.

History

Taylor, Madeline Jane. Buckland Filleigh: A Continuous Thread, Bideford, Lazarus Press (2005) 200 pp. [1-898546-80-0] [Based on original documents including Domesday, Medieval Deeds, Tax Lists, Parish Register, Protestation Return, Census, Parish records, etc.] [SoG Library DE/L 137] [List of surnames recorded in the Book]
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the parish of Buckland Filleigh, Devon. Typescript (1964) 68p.

Land and Property

Reichel, O.J. A Batch of Old Deeds Relating to Buckland Filleigh. Devonshire Association Trans., vol. 41 (1909) pp.41-55.

Military History

Taylor, Jane. "Lest We Forget", Devon Family Historian, vol. 138, (2011) pp.6-7. [About the men listed on the World War 1 War Memorial, and those listed in the church as having served in H.M. Forces 1914-1918]

Occupations

Buckland Filleigh Apprentice Register 1806-1840. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2013). [Foreword]

Probate Records

Wills of Mary Fortescue (1629) and William Fortescue (1680), provided by Adrian Parry.

Schools

Taylor, M. Jane. Education in Rural North Devon 1883-1939, Devon Family Historian, vol. 131, (August 2009) pp.23-26. [Extensive quotations from the Buckland Filleigh school notebooks.]