Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Bulkworthy

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Bulkworthy

"BULKWORTHY, a small scattered village, 7 miles S.W. of Great Torrington, has in its parish 196 souls and 6050 acres of land, including Heytown hamlet, and a large tract of waste. The trustees of the late Lord Rolle are lords of the manor; but the barton of Hankford belongs to the Rev. J.M. Stevens, and several other proprietors have estates in the parish. The Church was built by Chief Justice Hankford, as appears by an inscription on the window; and the curacy is annexed to the vicarage of Buckland Brewer." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Edward Fosse, Edward (1851). William Hankford, In Judges of England: Sketches of their Lives, and Miscellaneous Notices Connected with the Courts at Westminster from the Time of the Conquest, Vol IV, London: Longman, Brown, Green and Longmans, pp. 323-326. [Index]

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Howard, A.J. Bulkworthy Memorial Inscriptions. [SoG Library DE/M17]
Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bulkworthy area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Bulkworthy - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1709 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1709, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1605, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1813-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1605-1837.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbotsham, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Bideford, Buckland Brewer, Bulkworthy, Clovelly, East Putford, Frithelstock, Hartland, Landcross, Littleham, Monkleigh, Northam, Parkham, Wear Gifford, Welcombe and West Woolfardisworthy. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Abbotsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Alverdiscott Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1775-1837; Alwington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bideford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Brewer Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bulkworthy Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1814-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clovelly Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Putford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1797-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Frithelstock Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Hartland Bapt: 1838-1839, Mar: 1558-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Landcross Bapt: 1814-1839, Mar: 1761-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Littleham Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Monkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Northam Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Parkham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1537-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Wear Gifford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Welcombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; West Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Bulkworthy from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie

You can see pictures of Bulkworthy which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Janet Few, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources on fiche; census 1841-1901; tithe apportionments.)

Don Davis's blog on the Fishleigh/Fishley family contains extensive information relating to Abbots Bickington, Bulkworthy, Milton Damerel and Newton St Petrock.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bulkworthy has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bulkworthy to another place.

History

Harvey, J H. Abbots Bickington and Bulkworthy. Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries 25,4 (1952) pp. 102-4.
Williams, H.Fulford. Notes on the parish of Bulkworthy. Typescript (1963) 4p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/BUL/0001/WIL]

Military History

Toms, H.N.W. Bulkworthy and East Putford and the 1569 muster roll. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 34, 1 (1978) pp.39.