Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Cheriton Bishop

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Cheriton Bishop

"CHERITON-BISHOP, or South Cheriton, a village on the Okehampton road, 9½ miles W. of Exeter, and 6 miles S.W. of Crediton, has in its parish 848 souls, and about 5000 acres of land, of which 4719 acres are rateable. The gross rental is £1397. The parish has many scattered houses, and includes the hamlet of Cheriton Cross, and part of the village of CROCKERNWELL, which is partly in Drewsteignton parish, and gives name to a division for which petty sessions are held at the Royal Hotel, on the first Monday of every month. The Bishops of Exeter were formerly lords of Cheriton, but the manor was alienated in the reign of Henry VIII. Baldwin Fulford, Esq., is now lord of the manors of Eggbeare and Lampford, which have been long held by his family, but a great part of the parish belongs to Dr. Pennell, the Rev. Wm. Ponsford, George Ponsford, Esq., Wm. Lambert, Esq., and many smaller freeholders. Medland was a seat of the Foulkes family, but the estate was sold in parcels some years ago. The parish Church (St. Mary,) has a tower and six bells, and contains some monuments of the Davy family." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

Cheriton Bishop parish is in Wonford Hundred, and the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter.

Cemeteries

Cresswell, B.F. Notes on the Churches of the Deanery of Kenn, Devon, (1912). [Extracts]
Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]
Williams, John. Monumental Inscriptions: West Down Evangelical Church (Plymouth Brethren) cemetery, Typescript (2012) 2 pp. [DFHS Library - Cheriton Bishop parish file]

Census

Transcription of the 1821 Census of Cheriton Bishop, by Fay Sampson Priestley. (The original document is in private hands.)

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cheriton Bishop area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Cheriton Bishop - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

The church of Saint Mary the Virgin, Cheriton Bishop. [Cheriton Bishop?]: [Church?] [1968?] 4p. [Westcountry Studies Library - p726.5/CHE/CHU]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1841, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

The Deanery of Dunsford: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashton, Bridford, Chagford, Cheriton Bishop, Christow, Doddiscombsleigh, Drewsteignton, Dunsford, Gidleigh, Hittisleigh, Holcombe Burnell, South Tawton, Spreyton, Tedburn St. Mary, Throwleigh and Whitestone. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Ashton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1740-1837; Bridford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Chagford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Cheriton Bishop Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1841, Bur: 1813-1837; Christow Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1757-1844, Bur: 1813-1837; Doddiscombsleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1780-1837; Drewsteignton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Dunsford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Gidleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1748-1812 (BT's), Mar: 1814-1837, Bur: 1813-1884; Hittisleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Holcombe Burnell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1753-1837; South Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Spreyton Bapt: 1803-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Tedburn St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Throwleigh Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Whitestone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Cheriton Bishop web-site - general information.

Conservation Area Appraisal for Crockernwell - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

Section on Cheriton Bishop from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Richardson, Richard. Portrait of a village - Cheriton Bishop. Devon Life vol. 6 no. 51 (1970) pp.32-34; ill.
You can see pictures of Cheriton Bishop which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Daniel Morgan, who invites queries and lookup requests.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cheriton Bishop has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cheriton Bishop to another place.

History

Cheriton Bishop Womens' Institute. Looking Back at Cheriton Bishop, [Devon FHS Library p942.35/CHE] (1982).

Land and Property

Chesher, Veronica. The Glebe Terrier of Cheriton Bishop, 1680. In Devon Documents (ed. T. Gray). Tiverton: Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, Special Issue (1996) [ISBN 0925836203] pp.41-49.

Manors

Transcription, by Fay Sampson Priestley, of a Rent Book for the Fulford Estate, including the Manors of Melhuish, Lampford, and Eggbear. (The original document is in private hands.)

Chief Rents And Properties in the Manors of Spreyton, Lamford (Cheriton Bishop) and Fursham (Drewsteignton), 1800 and 1859, transcribed by Sophia Lambert.

Names, Personal

Cheriton Bishop contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Protestation Return for 1641, provided by Devon Heritage.

Table of Family Names in Cheriton Bishop, provided by Sophia Lambert.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Phillips, Peter. The Case For Removal: Removal of the Pauper Richard ASH and his family from Cheriton Bishop to Tedburn St Mary, 1842, Devon Family Historian, vol. 162, (2017) pp.7-12.