Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Cheriton Fitzpaine

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Cheriton Fitzpaine

"CHERITON FITZPAINE is a pleasant village on an acclivity near one of the tributary streams of the river Creedy, 5 miles N.N.E. of Crediton. Its parish has many scattered farm houses, &c. and comprises 1156 souls, and 5290 acres of land, rising boldly towards the south and west. The Rev. W.H. Arundel, M.A., is patron and incumbent of the rectory, and also lord of the manor, which was anciently held by the Stanton, Fitzpaine,, and other families; but the chief part of the soil belongs to Sir H.R.F. Davie, Mrs. Fursdon, (owner of Upcott,) J.C. Luxmore, Esq., and many other freeholders. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £37. 6s. 8d., and in 1831 at £793, has a good residence and 38A. 1R. 21P. of glebe. The tithes were commuted in 1842 for £1000 per annum. The Church (St. Mary,) is a large ancient structure, with a tower and five bells , and a painted east window. The parish has an Independent Chapel and several charities. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in West Budleigh Hundred, the Archdeaconry and the Diocese of Exeter.

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]
Cheriton Fitzpaine, St Mathew, Memorial Inscriptions Index. G.M. Project. C.C.C. Community Programme (1986). [SoG Library DE/M17]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cheriton Fitzpaine area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

Cheriton Fitzpaine - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Carr, Jean & Cave, Jennifer. To serve the coming days: the story of Cheriton Fitzpaine Methodist Chapel, 1860-1985. Cheriton Fitzpaine: J. Carr (1985) 77p.
Fala, Trevor et al. A Short Guide to the Parish Church of Cheriton Fitzpaine. Cheriton Fitzpaine. (1977). [SoG Library]
Voce, Alan P. Upham Methodist Chuapel [Cheriton Fitzpaine] 100 years 1895-1995 (1995). [Devon FHS Library p942.35/CHE]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1717 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1660, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1610, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1610-1837, and Marriages 1610-1626, 1638, 1663-1837.

Sellman, R.R. Edited transcripts of parish registers, 1660-1837, and some family reconstitutions. Typescript (1989) 139p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/CHE/CHE]
Sellman, R.R. (ed.) Cheriton Fitzpaine: notes from the parish records and other sources. Photocopy (1978) 89p. [Westcountry Studies Library - xB/CHE 5/0001/CHE]
Deanery Of Cadbury - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 And Burials 1813-1837, CD060, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Brampford Speke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Cadbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Cadeleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1810-1837; Cheriton Fitzpaine Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Colebrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Crediton Presbyterian Chapel Bur: 1826-1837; Crediton Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Down St Mary Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1770-1837; Kennerleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Morchard Bishop Bapt: 1813-1837 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Nether Exe Bapt: 1814-1851 Mar: 1773-1807 Bur: 1813-1856; Newton St. Cyres Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Poughill Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1770-1837; Sandford Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Shobrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh English Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh Pomeroy Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1752-1837 Bur: 1813-1851; Thorverton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1839 Bur: 1813-1837; Upton Hellions Bapt: 1813-1842 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1678-1929; Upton Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1800-1837.]

Court Records

Transcription by Pam Simons of a Chancery Court case, Hewish v Hewish, in 1772.

Register of Freeholders - Teignbridge, Tiverton, West Budleigh & Winkleigh c1816, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF D135). [Foreword]

Description and Travel

Cheriton Fitzpaine web-site - general information.

Conservation Area Appraisal for Cheriton Fitzpaine - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

Section on Cheriton Fitzpaine from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie

You can see pictures of Cheriton Fitzpaine which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Elly Babbedge, who invites queries and lookup requests.

Cameron, Heather J. Peter Labdon of Cheriton Fitzpaine, Bible Church Minister, Devon Family Historian, vol. 142, (2012) pp.7-9. [b. 1835]
Goodman, Norman. Cheriton Fitzpaine and the Manning Family, Devon Family Historian, vol. 142, (2012) pp.20-21. [Correction in vol. 143, p.35]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cheriton Fitzpaine has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cheriton Fitzpaine to another place.

History

Sue Davey's CheritonFitzpaine pages provide historical information, and parish register extracts.

Babbedge, Elly. Cheriton Fitzpaine: A Sense of Community. The Author, printed by Short Run Press, Exeter (2016) 350pp. [ISBN 978-099353370-3]

Land and Property

Transcription of a Cheriton Fitzpaine Deed, from John Tingey's Calendar of Deeds Enrolled Within the County of Devon 1536 - 1673, provided by Debbie Kennett.

Names, Personal

Cheriton Fitzpaine contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Probate Records

The will of Robert Westcott (1825), transcribed by Ros Dunning.

The wills of Mary Hewish (1828), John Hewish (1843) and Richard Hewish (1851), transcribed by Pam Simons.

Taxation

Howard, A.J. Lay subsidy roll: county of Devon 1524: Halberton hundred ...Bampton hundred...West Budleigh hundred...Hayridge hundred...Tiverton hundred, Typescript (1968). [D&CRS Library, Exeter: P1524]