Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Chittlehampton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Chittlehampton

"CHITTLEHAMPTON, a large and pleasant village, 5½ miles W. of South Molton, and 6½ miles S.E. of Barnstaple, has in its parish 1893 inhabitants, and 8720 acres of land, extending westward to the Taw Valley, and including the village of Chittleham-holt, and the hamlets of Ambow, Bidicot, Brightley, Stowford, Newton, and Head, and many scattered farmhouses, &c. There is some beautiful scenery on the banks of the Taw, particularly near Head Wood. A fair is held in the village on the third Saturday in March. The manor of Chittlehampton belongs to the heirs of the late Lord Rolle, and was formerly held by the Fitzhamon, Spenser, Dauberry, Pollard, and Venner families. The manor of Chittleham-holt belongs to John Brown, Esq., whose son has a pleasant seat here. Hudscot, a neat mansion with pleasant grounds, is the seat of the sister of the late Lord Rolle. J. Tanner, the Rev. P. Johnson, and several smaller owners, have estates in the parish. The Church (St. Hieritha,) is a large and handsome structure, in the perpendicular style, with a fine tower and six bells. Its tutelary saint is said to have been interred here. It contains several handsome monuments, and has a finely carved stone pulpit." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

In South Molton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple and Diocese of Exeter. Included the outlier of Chittlehamholt.

Biography

Diary of Sergt. Peter Facey, transcribed by David Ryall.

Carew, Joyce. The village witch. Devon Life vol. 2 no. 22, (1966) pp.16; ill. [Recollections of a supposedly true event; Jane Westacott.]
Editors. Hardinge, Frank Giffard, MA, FSA. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 5:6, (1909) pp.217, plates: port. [Lawyer, 1860-1908, Obituary]. [See erratum, vol.5, p.296, par.160.]

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon and NDA North Devon indexes - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Brown, Mike. Guide Notes to Monuments in Devon Churches & Graveyards: Chittlehampton, Atherington. 14pp. [Giffard, Bassett]
Ryall, David: Chittlehampton churchyard: transcription and surname index of gravestones. Colleytown: D. Ryall (1995) [27]p: diagram.
Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

Census

Transcript of an 1811 census of Chittlehampton, provided by Len Collum.

Transcript of the 1871 census, provided by Lindsey Withers.

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish, including 1881 entries for Chittlehamholt]

Church History

Chittlehampton - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

The Web site for St. Hieritha's Church, Chittlehampton provides some basic information about the church, and its daughter Church of the Good Shepherd nearby in Umberleigh.

Saint Teara's Well, Chittlehampton (archived copy) - provided by David Ryall, from an article by Rev. J H B Andrews.

Andrews, J H B. Coblegh memorials at Chittlehampton. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 26,5 (1955) pp. 146-8.
Andrews, J.H.B. The Incumbents of Chittlehampton. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 27 (1956-58) pp.171-187, 220.
Chanter, J.F. St. Urith of Chittlehampton: a study in an obscure Devon saint. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 46, (1914) pp.290-308. [Index]
Cresswell, Beatrix F. Umberleigh Chapel. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 70, (1938) pp.433-439.
Chittlehampton, St Hieritha's Church. Chittlehampton Church: Her saint and her church. (1974) [Exeter University Library, Plymouth Central Library]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1575 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1575 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Chittlehampton Baptisms 1700-1837, Baptisms 1838-1859, Baptisms 1860-1875, Marriages 1652-1836, Marriages 1837-1875, Burials 1651-1837 and Burials 1838-1874, transcribed by Lindsey Withers.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1807-37 - see Barnstaple Circuit (PRO RG 4/954)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1575-1812 and Marriages 1576-1578, 1597-1812.

Deanery of Barnstaple - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2005). [Index of Atherington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Barnstaple: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Bishops Tawton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Chittlehampton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Filleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Fremington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), High Bickington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Horwood: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1654-1837), Burials (1675-1837), Huntshaw: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Instow: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Landkey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Newton Tracey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1570-1837), Burials (1725-1837), Pilton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Swimbridge: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Tawstock: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Westleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838) [Lookups]

Description and Travel

Chittlehampton Parish Council Website.

Section on Chittlehampton from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie

Umberleigh - from BBC Devon.

You can see pictures of Chittlehampton which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Transcript of complete entries in Kelly's Directory of Devon of 1889 and Kelly's Directory of Devon and Cornwall of 1901, provided by Lindsey Withers.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Linda Anstey, who invites queries and lookup requests.

Giffard, Hardinge F. Cobleigh of Brightleigh. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 1:7, (1900) pp.210-214. [See vol.1, p.244 for corrections to pedigrees set out here.] [Index]
Kelland, W.H. Saunder of Chittlehampton, Western Antiquary 4, 1885, pp. 175-77.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Chittlehampton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Chittlehampton to another place.

History

Chittlehampton Parish Magazine Extracts, about the history of the parish, provided by David Ryall.

Andrews, John H.B. The parish of Chittlehamholt (Parochial Histories of Devonshire No. 18) Trans. Devon. Assoc. 93 (1961) pp141-173.
Andrews, John H.B. Chittlehampton. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 94 (1962) pp. 233-338.
Chanter, J. Frederick. Chittlehampton wayside crosses. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 5:1, (1908) pp.17-19, plates: ill. [Errata, see on, vol.5, p.50.
Lethbridge, Richard. The Book of Chittlehamholt, with Warkleigh and Satterleigh: A Photographic History, Halsgrove (2002) 160 pp. [ISBN: 1841141445]
Chittlehampton History Society. The Book of Chittlehampton - Celebrating a North Devon Parish, Tiverton, Halsgrove Community History Series (2000) 160 pp., over 250 photographs. [ISBN: 1-84114-057-0] [Index]

Land and Property

Chittlehampton Parish Magazine Extracts, about farms and farming in the parish, provided by David Ryall.

Names, Personal

Ryall, David. Lest We Forget, War memorials around South Molton. South Molton Archive, 68pp. [ISBN 0 951236 1 4] [Provides an indexed list of names]

Newspapers

Extracts from 18th and 19th Century newspapers Part 1 and Part 2 (from Trewman's Exeter Flying Post), and Part 3 (from the North Devon Journal) relating to Chittlehampton, provided by Lindsey Withers.

Societies

South Molton and District Archive Local History Society web-site (archived copy) - provides details of archive holdings for the twenty-eight parishes in what used to be the South Molton Rural District, lists of publications, etc.