Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Church History

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Devon - Church History

Listing of books and papers on Devon Church History.

Further information about many of Devon's churches, not just ancient parish churches, can be found in the Devon section of the GENUKI church database. Here is a listing of the Devon section, in parish order.

Lyson's Magna Britannia - Vol 6, Devonshire (1822) - a complete transcript of this nearly 700-page general and parochial history of Devon, provided by British History Online.

Graham Jaunay has kindly provided a listing covering both modern and ancient parishes, and indicating how the modern parishes relate to the original ancient parishes.

Huguenots and Walloons in Devon - links and references.

An essay by John Lerwill: Devon Huguenots.

Roger Peters provides a full transcription, complete with scanned photographs of Stabb's Some Old Devon Churches (3 vols.), 1980 , covering 261 Devon churches - consisting of 232 pages of text and over 500 photographs, which can be downloaded as one zipped archive.

Here is the full text of Michael J.L. Wickes' West Country Preachers - A History of the Bible Christians 1805-1907, (Second edition, February 2007) - completed by Rosie Wickes after Michael Wickes died in 2004, and made available here by her kind permission.

John Pritchard's account: The Presbyterian Church in Devon.

Official web-site of the Diocese of Exeter - this provides, among other information, a search facility for contact details for the incumbents and staff of all the Devon (modern) parishes.

Listing of parishes in the Diocese of Exeter that have web-pages, from Anglicans Online.

Studies in Anglo-Jewish History, by Rabbi Susser - contains transcriptions of wills, census records, MIs, etc., mainly relating to South-West England.

The Bible Christian Project is collecting information on the founders of this movement and their descendants - see also the Bible Christian Magazine.

Devon section of Steve Bulman's collection of photographs of the churches of Great Britain and Ireland.

The Church Monuments Society website provides a large number of photographs and transcripts of the monuments in an extensive set of Devon churches.

Photographs of Devon Churches, from the Roughwood British Churches Album.

Church Bells of Devon - listings of bellfounders and inscriptions, by Jean E. Harris.

Early Nonconformists in Devon - taken from G. Lyon Turner's Original Records of Early Nonconformity under Persecution and Indulgence, by Jean Harris.

Devonshire names, extracted from The Clerical Guide for 1829 by Michael Steer.