Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Churston Ferrers

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Churston Ferrers

"CHURSTON-FERRERS is a pleasant village, on a gentle eminence on the south side of Torbay, 1½ miles W. of Brixham. Its parish has 2527A. 3R. 8P. of land, and 772 inhabitants, of whom 261 are in Galmpton hamlet, near the river Dart, 1 mile W. of the village. The lofty eminence of Warborough Common commands an extensive view of Torbay, and the south-eastern coast of Devon. Sir J.B.Y. Buller, Bart., is lord of the manor of Churston-Ferrers, and his eldest son resides at Churston Court, the ancient seat of the Yardes, which has lately been modernised, . . . J.F. Luttrell, Esq., owns Galmpton, and Col. Carlyon has a seat and estate at Greenway. The soil is mostly freehold, and well-adapted for the growth of corn. The Church is an ancient structure, with a tower and four bells. . . . The perpetual curacy is annexed to the vicarage of Brixham; and the tithes were commuted in 1840, the vicarial for £180, and the rectorial for £212. The latter belong to Miss Knollis. Here is a small dissenting chapel." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Haytor Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Gosling, William Gilbert. The Life of Sir Humphrey Gilbert, England's First Empire Builder, London, Constable and Co. (1911) 304 pp. [Index] [Ambra Books: "Half brother of Sir Walter Raleigh he claimed one of the first properties in North America. As well as being a colonial adventurer he became M.P. for Plymouth and later Governor of Ulster."]
Underwood, Lynn (ed.) Agatha Christie 1890-1990: official centenary celebration 1890-1990. Belgrave Press (1990) 99p. [ISBN 0006376574]
topup

Cemeteries

Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

topup

Church History

Churston Ferrers - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Adams, Maxwell. Some Notes on the Church and Parish of Churston Ferrers. Trans. Devon Assoc. 36 (1904) pp.506-516. [MIs] [Index]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1590 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1589 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1800-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1811-37 - see Brixham Circuit, Teignmouth (PRO RG 4/842, 1220)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1589-1837, Marriages 1590-1836.

Banks, Charles Edward (ed.). The Parish Registers of Churston Ferrers, Co. Devon, England. Marriages 1590-1653; Baptisms, 1589-1653, Burials, 1590-1653. New York Genealogical Record, vol. 63 (1932) pp. 259-268, 351-358, vol. 64 (1933) pp. 46-53, 298-304, 396-403.
Harris, J. As Seen in the Baptism Register for the Parish of Churston Ferrers, Devon. Devon Family Historian 50 (1989) p.10. [Re: entries for Gaskin and Reeve]
Harris, S.G. Churston Ferrers and Brixham records of briefs, 1722 - 1827, and 1706 - 1766. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 26, (1894) pp.230-236. [Church briefs] [Index]
Deanery of Ipplepen: Photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD - Devon FHS (2012). [An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of: Abbotskerswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1756-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Berry Pomeroy Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Brixham All Saints Baptisms (1826-1839), Marriages (1826-1837), Burials (1831-1832); Brixham St Mary Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Broadhempston Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1681-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Churston Ferrers Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1835), Burials (1800-1837); Cockington Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1780-1834); Coffinswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1857); Denbury Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837); Ipplepen Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1843), Burials (1813-1837); Kingskerswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Kingswear Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1755-1837), Burials (1780-1837); Littlehempston Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1731-1837), Burials (1813-1840); Marldon Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Paignton Baptisms (1813-1841), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Paignton Independent Burials (1826-1836); Staverton Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Stoke Gabriel Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Torbryan Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1838), Burials (1813-1854); Tormohun Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Torquay St Marychurch Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Wolborough Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1839), Burials (1813-1837); Woodland Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1755-1835), Burials (1813-1838).]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Churston Ferrers from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie

Seymour, Deryck. Dart country: featuring the area in and around Stoke Gabriel, Churston, Kingswear and Galmpton, Exeter, Obelisk Publications (1996) 40 pp. [ISBN 1899073329] [Westcountry Studies Library pB/DAR 1/1996/SEY]

You can see pictures of Churston Ferrers which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Copy provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Churston Ferrers to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Furneaux, H. Furneaux family: genealogical notes, Miscellanea Genealogica et Heraldica (New Series) 2, 1877, pp. 193-7. [Raymond: Of Paignton and Churston Ferrers, Devon; also Landrake, Cornwall. Extracts from parish registers, deeds, monumental inscriptions, etc., 16-18th c.]
Gilbert family of Compton and Greenway, Devonshire. Essex Institute Historical Collections 17, 1880, 40-41. [Raymond: Folded pedigree, 15-17th c.]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Churston Ferrers has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Adams. Maxwell. Some notes on the church and parish of Churston Ferrers. Trans. Devon Assoc. 36 (1904) pp. 506-516. [Index]
Tregaskes, Jean H . Churston story 1088-1988. (1990) 48p. [Westcountry Studies Library - p726.5/CHU/TRE]
Warren, W. Notes on the Church and Parish of Churston Ferrers. (1922) 24p. [Westcountry Studies Library - 726.5/CHU/WAR]
topup

Land and Property

Steele, Veronica. Elbury Hall, Churston Ferrers. Devon Life vol. 2 no. 20, (1966) pp.36-38; ill.
topup
topup

Probate Records

Will of Dame Susan Buller (1810), transcribed by Elizabeth Kipp.

topup

Taxation

Chinneck, A. The Rates Problem - 18th Century Style Devon Family Historian 29 (1984) pp.9-10.