Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Clannaborough

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Clannaborough

"CLANABOROUGH, 5 miles W.N.W. of Crediton, is a small parish, containing only 69 souls, and 800 acres of land, belonging to W. and S. Wreford, J. Sillifant, Esq., and a few smaller owners. The Church (St. Petrock,) is a small antique structure, with a tower and three bells. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £5. 17s. 3½d., and in 1831 at £171, is in the patronage of the Lord Chancellor, and incumbency of the Rev. Peter Glubb, of Little Torrington. The glebe is 50A., and the tithes were commuted in 1839 for £95 per annum. Directory: Rev. H.A. Hughes, curate; Wm. Wreford, Esq., Barton; and John Gibbins and Thos. Stone, farmers." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Clannaborough, St Petrock, Memorial Inscriptions Index. G.M. Project. C.C.C. Community Programme (1986). [SoG Library DE/M17]

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Clannaborough area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1696 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1696 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1697-1812 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1696-1849 and Marriages 1696-1844.

Listing of the Rectors of the Parish of St Petrock, Clannaborough, provided by John Williams

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bondleigh, Bow, Brushford, Burrington, Chawleigh, Chulmleigh, Clannaborough, Coleridge, Eggesford, Lapford, North Tawton, Nymet Rowland, Wembworthy and Zeal Monachorum. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850). CD-ROM 063, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Bondleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Bow Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brushford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Burrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chawleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chulmleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clannaborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1759-1834, Bur: 1697-1836; Coleridge Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Eggesford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1838; Lapford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1567-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; North Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Nymet Rowland Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1734-1879; Wembworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1733-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Zeal Monachorum Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837]

Description and Travel

Section on Clannaborough from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie

Shirley Turner has provided a brief description and photograph (archived copy) of the village.

You can see pictures of Clannaborough which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Neville Enderson, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: Bap. 1696-1993; bur. 1697-1997; marr. 1696-1992; Censuses 1841-1901.)

Wreford, G. Pedigree and Sketch of the Wreford Family of Clannaborough and Morchard Bishop, Devonshire. London: G.Wreford (1888) 44p,7 pedigree charts [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.2/WRE]
Wreford, G. Records and Pedigree of the Wreford Family of Devonshire, 2nd ed. Privately printed (1909) [Westcountry Studies Library - x929.2/WRE]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Clannaborough has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Clannaborough to another place.

History

Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Clannaborough, Devon. Typescript (1962) 6 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]

Names, Personal

Clannaborough contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Probate Records

Summaries of the wills of William Wreford (1683) and William Wreford (1771) provided by John Moore.

Will of the Reverend Freeman Freke (1809), provided by Ros Dunning.