Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Clayhanger

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Clayhanger

"CLAYHANGER, or Cleyhanger, a small scattered village, on the borders of Somerset and Devon, 4½ miles E.N.E. of Bampton, and S.W. of Wivelscombe, has in its parish 294 souls, and 2043 acres of land, belonging to Thomas Gould, Esq., Thomas Langdon, M.D., and several smaller freeholders. The Church (St. Peter,) is an ancient structure, with a tower and three bells. The interior still retains its original carved oak seats, and has some memorials of the Nutcombe family, formerly lords of the manor. The Rev. W.M. Harrison is patron and incumbent of the rectory, valued in K.B. at £15. 17s. 3½d., and in 1831 at £302. The Rectory House was rebuilt in 1823, at a cost of about £1000. The glebe is 40A., and the tithes were commuted in 1840 for £244 per annum. The poor have 20s. a year of Perry-tenement, left by Mary Sayer, in 1701. An annuity of £3, left by Mrs. H.N. Bluett, in 1747; and the dividends of £150 three per cent. stock, given by John Norman and B.N. Bluett, are applied in schooling poor children." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Bampton Hundred, the Archdeaconry and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

De Chazal, Nancy. Clayhanger: a wartime childhood. Sydling St. Nicholas: Author (1995?) [iii],104p,plates: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/CLA 5/1939/DeC]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Clayhanger area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1750-1812 - for details see their book list.

Due to the proximity of Clayhanger to the Somerset border, it is worth checking Somerset PRs of all parishes along the border for relevant entries.

Tiverton Museum holds copies of fiche of Clayhanger PRs.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1538-1837, and Marriages 1538-1662, 1684-1833.

Pallot's Marriage Index for England: (1780 - 1837) has two Clayhanger entries: Thos Fowler/Ann Wheatley (1801) and Ann Cadbury/Benjn Harwood (1820).

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bampton, Bickleigh, Burlescombe, Calverleigh, Clayhanger, Culmstock, Halberton, Hockworthy, Holcombe Rogus, Huntsham, Loxbeare, Morebath, Petton Chapelry, Sampford Peverell, Tiverton St. Peter, Tiverton Cove, Uffculme, Uplowman, Washfield and Willand. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White’s Directory (1850) and Kelly’s Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM 064, Exeter, Devon FHS (2016). [Bampton Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1814-1838; Bickleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1800-1837; Burlescombe Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1838 Bur: 1813-1837; Calverleigh Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clayhanger Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1833 Bur: 1750-1852; Culmstock Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Halberton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Hockworthy Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1759-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Holcombe Rogus Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1844 Bur: 1813-1837; Huntsham Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1750-1838; Loxbeare Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1983; Morebath Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Petton Chapelry Bampton Parish Bapt: 1813-1839 Bur: 1813-1861; Sampford Peverell Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Tiverton St Peter Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Tiverton Cove Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1682-1837 Bur: 1815-1837; Uffculme Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1783-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Uplowman Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Washfield Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Willand Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837.]
Sellman, R.R. Clayhanger, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers to 1837. Typescript (1991) 81p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/CLA/1538]

Description and Travel

Section on Clayhanger from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Locki

You can see pictures of Clayhanger which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

Stone-Rhodes Family Genealogy - a website devoted to descendants of Richard Stone ca. 1579 - 1653 of Clayhanger.

Monday, A.J. Clayhanger, in the county of Devon, and Raddington, in the county of Somerset, Western Antiquary 3, 1884, pp. 98-99. [Raymond: Descent of Nutcombe family.]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Clayhanger has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Clayhanger to another place.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

The Report of the Commissioners Concerning Charities: Containing that Part which Relates to the County of Devon, Exeter, T. Besley (1826-30). [Clayhanger extract]

Probate Records

Listing of Estate Duty and PCC wills, compiled by Kathryn Barnett.

Transcript of the will of Thomas Stone (1660), by John C. Stone II, provided by Elizabeth Howard.

Transcripts of the wills of John Stone (1637), Honor Stone (1638), William Stone (1650) and Elianor Stone (1674), by Elizabeth Howard.