Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Clovelly Taxpayers 1524-1581

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

CLOVELLY TAXPAYERS IN 1524, 1545, 1546, 1569, & 1581

By

Peter R. H. Burnard, BSc (Hons) Sociology

These sources can identify individuals in the parish whose details are not found in the parish registers. The 1524 list is of men born before 1506 or so. The Muster of 1569 would certainly include fit teenagers. The basis in column G is G for Goods followed by a value which reflects the individuals capacity to pay tax, similarly L means Land followed by its value. All of these have been published by Mr T.L Stoate, in his Devon volumes. I am a descendant of the last Clovelly Burnard, my father Jack, who was born in 1899.
I dedicate this publication to Miss Sheila Ellis, and our cousin, Mrs Shelagh Sansom, a Vine descendant.
Year Surname Forename     Source Basis
1524 ABBOTT John     subsidy G1
1545 ADAM William     taxed on goods of £2
1545 AVERY John     taxed on goods of £1
1545 BALAMAY John     taxed on goods of £2
1569 BEAPLE Giles     muster Pikeman
1569 BEAPLE John     muster Billman
1524 BEAR Henry     subsidy G2
1545 BENETT John     taxed on goods of £7
1524 BENNETT John     subsidy G3
1524 BENNETT Richard     subsidy G5
1545 BERD Hugh     taxed on goods of £6
1524 BLENCHE John     subsidy G3
1524 BLENCHE John     subsidy G5
1545 BLYNCHE John     taxed on goods of £7
1569 BOUNTIE John     muster G7 + 1 harqu
1581 BOUNTIE John     taxed on goods of £6
1569 BOUNTIE John, Jr     muster Billman
1546 BOWNTY John     taxed on £10
1545 BRAYT Agnes     taxed on goods of £8
1545 BRAYT John     taxed on goods of £5
1545 BRAYT Richard     taxed on goods of £3
1524 BROYTE William     subsidy G5
1524 BROYTE William     subsidy G9
1581 BUCKINGHAM Roger     taxed on goods of £3
1569 BURGES William     muster Presenter
1569 BURGES William     muster Archer
1545 BURGEZ Barnard     taxed on goods of £3
1581 BURGIES William     taxed on goods of £5
1545 BURNARD John   spelt Barnard taxed on goods of £5
1524 BUSE William     subsidy G2
1524 CADE Richard     subsidy G1
1581 CARY George armiger   taxed on land of £5
1546 CARY Margery widow   taxed on £90
1581 CARY Robert armiger   taxed on land of £30
1569 CARYE Robert, Esq     muster L7+light gelding
1524 CLERKE Richard     subsidy G8
1545 CLEVERDON Richard     taxed on goods of £5
1581 CLYVERDON Edward     taxed on goods of £3
1581 CLYVERDON John     taxed on goods of £3
1545 COCHE Henry     taxed on goods of £3
1524 COCHE Richard     subsidy G1
1545 COCHE Richard     taxed on goods of £1
1545 COLLE John     taxed on goods of £3
1569 COURTIES William     muster Billman
1569 COURTIS Anthony     muster Harqubusier
1524 CROSSE Thomas     subsidy G4
1524 DRAPER Robert     subsidy G3
1546 DRAPER Robert     taxed on £10
1545 DUNNYNG Robert     taxed on goods of £4
1545 DYAR John     taxed on goods of £7
1545 ELYS John     taxed on goods of £1
1545 GORUNT John     taxed on goods of £4
1524 GRANNTE John     subsidy G2
1545 HAMLYN William     taxed on goods of £3
1524 HAYLER Richard     subsidy G14
1581 HEARDE James     taxed on goods of £5
1545 HELE Isabel     taxed on goods of £2
1545 HELE Richard     taxed on goods of £1
1524 HELE Robert     subsidy G1
1545 HELE Robert     taxed on goods of £4
1545 HERD John senior   taxed on goods of £6
1545 HERD John junior   taxed on goods of £2
1545 HERD Peter     taxed on goods of £1
1545 HERDE John junior   taxed on goods of £1
1545 HERLE John     taxed on goods of £5
1524 HOLEFORD John     subsidy G2
1524 HOLEFORD Richard     subsidy G1
1524 HOLEFORD Richard     subsidy G1
1545 HOLLOFORD Richard senior   taxed on goods of £5
1545 HOLOFORD John     taxed on goods of £2
1545 HOLOFORD Thomasia     taxed on goods of £1
1524 HURDE John     subsidy G2
1524 JUDD Richard     subsidy G3
1545 JUDDE John     taxed on goods of £1
1545 JUDDE Nicholas     taxed on goods of £4
1524 LAMAN Nicholl     subsidy G2
1524 LAMON John     subsidy G1
1524 LAMON John     subsidy G1
1524 LEGGE Henry     subsidy G1
1545 LOMAN John     taxed on goods of £1
1545 LOMAN Richard     taxed on goods of £1
1545 LOMAN Robert     taxed on goods of £1
1545 MARTYN John     taxed on goods of £2
1524 MOSEVEN William     subsidy G1
1545 PARKER John     taxed on goods of £3
1545 PECARDE Thomas     taxed on goods of £2
1545 PORTER Joan     taxed on land of £1
1569 PRICE Richard     muster Archer
1545 PRISE Edward     taxed on goods of £5
1569 PRISE Robert     muster Archer
1546 PROWSE John     taxed on £10
1581 PROWSE Peter     taxed on goods of £5
1524 PROWSSE John     subsidy G6
1524 PROWSSE Thomas     subsidy G10
1524 PROWTE Richard     subsidy G6
1581 PROWZE Richard     taxed on goods of £6
1545 RADDEMORE Richard     taxed on goods of £4
1524 REDE Richard     subsidy G2
1545 RESTOREKE Roger     taxed on goods of £4
1545 RESTOREKE Thomas     taxed on land of £1
1569 ROBYN Gregory     muster Billman
1546 SANDER John     taxed on £10
1545 SANDER Richard     taxed on goods of £4
1545 SANDER Thomas     taxed on goods of £5
1569 SAWNDER Thomas     muster Harqubusier
1545 SCHERT John     taxed on goods of £5
1545 SCHERT John     taxed on goods of £6
1545 SCHERT John junior   taxed on goods of £1
1569 SHAPLEY Giles     muster Harqubusier
1569 SHAPLIGHE William     muster G7 + 1 harqu
1581 SHAPLIGHE William     taxed on goods of £11
1546 SHAPPLEGH William     taxed on £13
1581 SHEARME Simon     taxed on goods of £3
1581 SHEVE John     taxed on goods of £4
1524 SLADE John     subsidy G1
1545 SMYTH Barnard     taxed on goods of £3
1524 SMYTH Simon     subsidy G4
1545 SMYTH Thomas     taxed on goods of £8
1524 SMYTH Thomas     subsidy G2
1546 SNAYLCOCKE Lewis     taxed on £10
1524 SNELLAC Lewys     subsidy G5
1569 SNOW Hugh     muster Presenter
1569 SNOW Hugh     muster Archer
1524 SNOW John     subsidy G1
1581 SNOWE Hugh     taxed on goods of £6
1524 SONDER John     subsidy G13
1524 SONDER Richard     subsidy G11
1524 SONDER Richard     subsidy G2
1545 SUTTER Alice     taxed on goods of £2
1524 SUTTER Thomas     subsidy G3
1545 THOM John     taxed on goods of £1
1524 THOMAS John     subsidy G1
1524 THOMAS John     subsidy G6
1545 TOPPE Thomas     taxed on goods of £3
1524 TOR Genson     subsidy G6
1524 TOR Richard     subsidy G10
1545 TORR Margery     taxed on goods of £1
1545 TORR Philip     taxed on goods of £5
1581 TORRE Alice widow   taxed on goods of £10
1569 TORRE Philip     muster G7
1581 WARREN John     taxed on goods of £3
1545 WAY Richard     taxed on goods of £8
1581 WAYMOUTHE John     taxed on goods of £5
1545 WAYRYN John senior   taxed on goods of £5
1545 WAYRYN John junior   taxed on goods of £1
1545 WAYT Matilda     taxed on goods of £3
1524 WAYTE Richard     subsidy G5
1524 WEBBER John     subsidy G6
1545 WEBBER John     taxed on goods of £2
1524 WERYNG John     subsidy G1
1569 WHEELER John     muster Archer
1581 WHILLER John     taxed on goods of £3
1569 WISE John     muster Billman
1569 WISE Thomas     muster Billman
1524 WYBBER Richard     subsidy G20

Brian Randell, 4 May 2007