Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Clyst Hydon

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Clyst Hydon

"CLIST HYDON, or Clyst Hydon, a small village in the valley, near the source of the river Clist, 4 miles S. by E. of Collumpton, and 10 miles N.E. of Exeter, has in its parish 325 souls, and 2725A. of land, including several scattered farms and neat houses. Mrs. Huyshe is lady of the manor of Clist Hydon, which was long held by the ancient family of Hidon. John Mathew, Esq., is lord of the manor of Anke or Aunck, and has a handsome seat here called Ratcliff's House, encompassed by a woody lawn. He also owns Farrant Hayes; but a great part of the parish belongs to J. Pinsent, E. Wish, Mrs. Drew, J.R. Salter, A.T. Follett, and several other freeholders. The Church (St. Andrew,) is a fine antique fabric, with a tower and five bells. . . . The rectory, valued in K.B. at £20. 0s. 7½d., and in 1831 at £494, is in the patronage of Mrs. Harriet Huyshe, and the incumbency of the Rev. John Huyshe, M.A. who has a good residence and 89A. of glebe.. . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Cliston Hundred, the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter.

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Clyst Hydon area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1548 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1548 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1790-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1552-1837, and Marriages 1548-1837.

Sellman, R.R. Clyst Hydon, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers to 1837, with family reconstitutions and other evidence. Typescript (1991) 93p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/CLY/1548]
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bradninch, Broadhembury, Buckerell, Butterleigh, Clyst Hydon, Clyst St. Lawrence, Cullompton, Feniton, Kentisbeare, Payhembury, Plymtree, Rewe, Silverton and Talaton. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire 1902. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Bradninch Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Broadhembury Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Buckerell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1841; Butterleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst Hydon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1790-1837; Clyst St. Lawrence Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1814-1851; Cullompton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Feniton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1790-1837; Kentisbeare Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1839, Bur: 1813-1837; Payhembury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1800-1837; Plymtree Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1541-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Rewe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1780-1837; Silverton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Talaton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1800-1837].

Description and Travel

Section on Clyst Hydon from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Clyst Hydon which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Chris Graves, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs.)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Clyst Hydon has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Clyst Hydon to another place.

Manors

Head, D. Manor of Heppastebe. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 36:6, (1989) pp.217-219. [Hebstubbs]

Names, Personal

Clyst Hydon contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Schools

Head, David. Chalk, talk and all that!: Clyst Hydon School 1620- 1990. [Clyst Hydon]: Clyst Hydon School Association,1991, 125 pp. ill., ports. ISBN: 0951645900 (pbk).