Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Cotleigh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Cotleigh

"COTLEIGH is a small parish and village 3 miles north-east-by-east from Honiton station on the London and South Western railway, and 7 north-west from Axminster, in the Eastern division of the county, Colyton hundred, Honiton union, county court district and petty sessional division, rural deanery of Dunkeswell and Honiton and archdeaconry and diocese of Exeter. The church of St. Michael is a building of flint and stone in the Early Decorated style . . . the church was restored in 1867, partly from funds furnished by Hobbs's charity: the chancel was rebuilt by the late rector: there are sittings for 130 persons. The registers date from 1611, but are very deficient at that period and for some time subsequently. The living is a rectory, net yearly value £188, including 28 acres of glebe, with residence, in the gift of Louisa Lady Ashburton, and held since 1882 by the Rev. John Hawker M.A. of Balliol College, Oxford. Here is a chapel for Bible Christians, erected in 1890. . . . The principal landowners are the Marquess of Northampton, who is lord of the manor, and the Misses Outhwaite, of Rougemont, Exeter. The soil is clayey; the subsoil is marl and gravel. The chief crops are wheat, barley and oats. The acreage is 1,270; rateable value, £1,363; the population in 1901 was 186." [From: Kelly's Directory of Devonshire, 1902]

A parish in Colyton Hundred, and the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter.

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cotleigh area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Cotleigh - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1653, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1608, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1608-163, 1653-1837, and Marriages 1609, 1625, 1663-1837. (These entries are based in part on Bishops' Transcripts.)

Cotleigh: Transcripts of parish registers and Bishop's transcripts, 1608-1837, LDS Film 0917181/1-2.
The Deanery of Honiton: CD-ROM CD041, Exeter, Devon FHS (2013). [Axminster Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Axmouth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1603-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chardstock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Colyton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1538-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Combpyne Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1836, Bur: 1796-1847; Cotleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Dalwood Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Farway Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Gittisham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1800-1837; Hawkchurch Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Honiton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Honiton Ind, Bur: 1774-1837; Kilmington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Membury Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Monkton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1814-1842; Musbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Northleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Offwell Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Seaton & Beer Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1839, Bur: 1813-1837; Shute Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Southleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Stockland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1640-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Thorncombe Bapt: 1813-1837, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1841; Uplyme Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Wambrook Bapt: 1813-1904, Mar: 1754-1836; Widworthy Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1954, Bur: 1790-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Cotleigh from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Cotleigh which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Richard Farmer, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: Limited.)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cotleigh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cotleigh to another place.

Land and Property

Land tax assessment for Cotleigh, 1780-1832, LDS Film 1471060/6.

Names, Personal

Cotleigh contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Taxation

Hoskins, W.G. Extracts from the lay subsidy rolls...for the parishes of Luppitt [1591, 1660], Cotleigh [1660], Monkton [1660], Shute [1660], Northleigh [1660], Farway [1660] and lists of the inhabitants of the precinct of Bradninch in Exeter, 1708, 1732, 1752, Manuscript (1935). [D&CRS Library, Exeter: P1660]