Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Parish Registers in the D & CRS Collection

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection

Full details of the Society's large collection of Parish Register transcripts are given in:

Stride, S. (comp.) A Shelflist of the Society's Collections. Westcountry Studies Library, Castle Street, Exeter EX4 3PQ (June 1986) 30pp.

This publication, which is available from the former Westcountry Studies Library, details the Society's holdings under the following headings:

  • A Society's publications, old series
  • B Society's publications, newseries
  • C Society's publications, extra series
  • F Family information files
  • G Parish information files
  • P Inhabitant lists covering more than one parish, by year
  • Q Family histories, by name
  • R Miscellaneous records, alphabetically by type
  • S Periodicals, by title
  • W Nonconformist registers on microfiche
  • X Devon parish registers
  • Y Marriage indexes for Devon and Cornwall
  • Z Cornwall parish registers

The parish register transcriptions generally end in or before 1837; those that are in fact based on Bishops' Transcripts typically cover just a brief early period - only a few go through into the 18th or 19th centuries.

The collection is held in the former Westcountry Studies Library, for the use of members only. Membership in the Society may be taken out in the Library. Temporary (three months) membership costs £2.50, and annual membership £5.00.

It would appear that the great majority of the Devon IGI entries come from these transcriptions.