Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Dolton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Dolton

"DOLTON, or DOWLTON, 6 miles N. by E. of Hatherleigh, and 4 miles N.W. by W. of Winkleigh, has in its parish 922 souls, and 3476 acres of land; and has two cattle fairs, on the Wednesday before the 25th of March, and the Thursday before the 1st of October. Mr. Thos. Owen is lord of the manor, anciently called Dueltone, but the soil belongs to many proprietors. Halsdon House is the seat of J.H. Furse, Esq., whose family has been seated there since 1680. The Church (St. Edmund,) is a venerable structure, with a tower and five bells, and the living is a rectory, valued in K.B. at £20. 16s. 8d., and in 1831 at £363. The Rev. Peter Johnson, B.D., is patron, and the Rev. Wm. Karslake is the incumbent, and has a fine old residence, and 121A. of glebe. The tithes were commuted in 1844 for £388. 7s. 7d. per annum. The Baptists and Plymouth Brethren have small chapels here. The poor have the dividends of £117. 19s. 10d. four per cent stock, left by Grace Jenn in 1809, and the interest of £24. 10s. left by unknown donors.." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Wadland, Shane. Our Miss Wadland, Bideford, Lazarus Press (Edward Gaskell Publishers) (1999) 160 pp. [ISBN: 1-898546-32-0]

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dolton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Dolton Parish Church Website.

Dolton - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1608 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1608, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1602, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1838, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1820-36 - see Ashburton Circuit (PRO RG 4/840)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1602-1837 and Marriages 1602-1837.

Burials 1837 - 1856, 1857 - 1876 and 1877 - 1896, provided by Devon Heritage.

Sellman, R.R. Dolton, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers to 1837, with family reconstitution and other evidence. Typescript (1991) 149p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/DOL/1602]
Dolton Burials, 1813-1837. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society, 1 999.
The Deanery of Torrington - An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashreigny, Beaford, Buckland Filleigh, Dolton, Dowland, Great Torrington, Huish, Iddesleigh, Langtree, Little Torrington, Meeth, Merton, Newton St. Petrock, Peters Marland, Petrockstowe, Roborough, Shebbear, Sheepwash, St. Giles in the Wood and Winkleigh. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2010) . [Ashreigny Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Beaford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Filleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Dolton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Dowland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1742-1837; Great Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Huish Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Iddesleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Langtree Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Little Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Meeth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Merton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Newton St. Petrock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Peters Marland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Petrockstowe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Roborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Shebbear Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sheepwash Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; St Giles in the Wood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Winkleigh Bapt: 1813-1853, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Photographs and various information items, including census transcriptions, are provided in Dick Bolt's Devon England Supplement pages (archived copy).

Dolton web-site - Old and present-day photos, old maps, links.

Bowen, David. Portrait of a village - Dolton. Devon Life vol. 5 no. 33, (1968) pp.26-29; ill.
You can see pictures of Dolton which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Thomas Peeke, who invites queries and lookup requests.

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Dolton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Dolton to another place.

History

Dingley, Dave. Partners in Time: A History of Dolton and Dowland from Saxon to Edwardian Times. The Author (2011) 240pp. [WSL: 6/DOLTON/DIN] [Surname Index] [Placename & General Index].
Dingley, Dave. Tockley, an ancient community in Dolton parish. The author (2012) 54pp. [WSL ref: pxB/DOL/0001/DIN]
Graham, Anne Dunbar. Dolton glimpses: background notes for teachers. Chulmleigh: Chulmleigh Library [1990] 38p: ill, maps. [Westcountry Studies Library - sxB/DOL/0001/GRA]

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS569120 (Lat/Lon: 50.889652, -4.035983), Dolton which are provided by:

Names, Personal

Dolton contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.