Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Down St Mary

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Down St Mary

"DOWN ST. MARY, 6 miles N.W. by W. of Crediton, has in its parish 407 souls, and 2229 acres of land. Henry Charles Stuart, Esq., is lord of the manor and owner of most of the soil, but Bradford Barton belongs to B. Bradford, Esq., the patron of the rectory, valued in K.B. at £12. 13s. 4d., and in 1831 at £275. The Rev. W.T.A. Radford, B.A. is the incumbent, and has 50A. of glebe, and a neat Gothic residence, built in 1846, at the cost of £1600. The Church is an ancient structure, with a curious Norman tympanum over the south door.." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry and the Diocese of Exeter. Peskett: Coplestone is at the meeting point of the parishes of Colebrooke, Crediton and Down St. Mary.

topup

Biography

Harpley, W. Obituary notices: William Tucker Arundel Radford. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 29, (1897) pp.44. [Clergy]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Parish Church is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 5 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M18).

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Down St Mary area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Down St Mary - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Sale, David M. The Rectors of Down St Mary. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 27 (1956-58) pp.70-72.
Thorne, Roger F.S. Methodism in three parishes: the story of Copplestone Methodist Chapel, 1831-1981, Copplestone, [The Author] (1981) 45 pp. [Westcountry Studies Library p287.1/COP/THO]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1696 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1696 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1770-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1696-1850, and Marriages 1696-1756, 1813-1849.

Deanery Of Cadbury - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 And Burials 1813-1837, CD060, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Brampford Speke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Cadbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Cadeleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1810-1837; Cheriton Fitzpaine Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Colebrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Crediton Presbyterian Chapel Bur: 1826-1837; Crediton Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Down St Mary Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1770-1837; Kennerleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Morchard Bishop Bapt: 1813-1837 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Nether Exe Bapt: 1814-1851 Mar: 1773-1807 Bur: 1813-1856; Newton St. Cyres Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Poughill Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1770-1837; Sandford Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Shobrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh English Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh Pomeroy Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1752-1837 Bur: 1813-1851; Thorverton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1839 Bur: 1813-1837; Upton Hellions Bapt: 1813-1842 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1678-1929; Upton Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1800-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Down St Mary from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie

You can see pictures of Down St Mary which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Down St Mary to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Partridge, Robert. Partridge, Devon Family Historian, vol. 144, (2012) p.17. [Partridge family of Lapford and Down St Mary]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Down St Mary has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Browne, Peter. Down St Mary: A Parish and its People, Down St Mary Parish Council (2002). [DFHS Library 942.35/DOW]
King, R.J. Coplestone Cross and a Charter of Eadgar, AD 974, Trans. Devon Assoc. vol. 8 (1876), pp. 351-359. [Index]
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the parish of Down St. Mary, Devon (1962) 7p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/DOW 7/0001/WIL]
topup
topup

Probate Records

Will of John Shobbrock (1822), transcribed by Roy Drew.