Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Eggesford

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Eggesford

"EGGESFORD parish, in Taw vale, 2½ miles S. of Chulmleigh, has 168 inhabitants, and 1216 acres of land, nearly all the property of the Hon. Newton Fellowes, the lord of the manor, who is son of the late, and brother and heir of the present Earl of Portsmouth. On coming to this and other estates, formerly belonging to his mother's family, he assumed the name of Fellowes, in place of Wallop, his paternal name. Old Eggesford House was the seat of the Lords Chichester in the 17th century, and was rebuilt by W. Fellowes, Esq. in 1718, but taken down about 26 years ago. The present seat of the Hon. Newton Fellowes is a neat mansion, standing in the adjoining parish of Wembworthy. He is patron of the rectory, valued in K.B. at £7. 18s. 9d., and in 1831 at 1831 at £132, and now enjoyed by the Rev. P.F. Clay, M.A., of Chawleigh. The Church (All Saints,) is a small structure, with a tower and two bells. The poor have the interest of £30, left by the Rev. John Churchill. The Parsonage is a new building, and the glebe is about 75A., of which 29A. is woodland. The tithes were commuted in 1847 for £61. 16s. 6d.." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Eggesford area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Williams, H.F. F. The Patrons and Rectors of Eggesford, Devon. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 29, 4 (1963?) pp.109-111.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1594 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1750-1838 - for details see their book list.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Baptisms: Eggesford 1813-1840. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2013).
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bondleigh, Bow, Brushford, Burrington, Chawleigh, Chulmleigh, Clannaborough, Coleridge, Eggesford, Lapford, North Tawton, Nymet Rowland, Wembworthy and Zeal Monachorum. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850). CD-ROM 063, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Bondleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Bow Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brushford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Burrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chawleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chulmleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clannaborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1759-1834, Bur: 1697-1836; Coleridge Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Eggesford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1838; Lapford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1567-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; North Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Nymet Rowland Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1734-1879; Wembworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1733-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Zeal Monachorum Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837]

Description and Travel

Section on Eggesford from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Eggesford which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Michael Mitchelmore, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: Baptisms 1594-1812, Banns 1754-1812, Marriages 1665-1837, Burials 1594-1812 - though records before about 1650 practically indecipherable.)

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Fellowes, Edmund Horace. The family and descendants of William Fellowes of Eggesford. Windsor: Oxley & Sons (1910) 61p: geneal tables. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.2/FEL]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Eggesford has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Eggesford to another place.

History

Axe, Chapman & Miller. The Lost Houses of Eggesford, Eggesford Gardens Ltd. (1995). [DFHS Library]
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Eggesford, Devon. Typescript (1961) 9 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]

Land and Property

Vachell E T. Eggesford and Heywood Castles. Trans. Dev. Assoc. 95 (1963) pp.197-207.