Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for P

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Devon Genealogies - P

Page

See Totnes.

Palk

See Tormoham.

Painel

See Bampton.

Palk

Ball, Hilary. Coincidences, Devon Family Historian, no. 152, (2014) pp.13-15. [Families mentioned: Atwill, Harvey, Palk, Putt, Sibley, Tinkham, Webber]

Palmer

Colby, F.T. Pedigrees of five Devonshire families: Colby, Coplestone, Reynolds, Palmer and Johnson. Exeter: W. Pollard (1884) 40p. Appendices, additions and corrections published 1885 and 1894. 40p. [BL 9904.m.5.]
See also Great Torrington, Ottery St Mary, and South Molton.

Parr

Parr, John Frank. Parr family of Devonshire, Western Antiquary 3, 1884, pp. 72-74.
See also Alphington, Ashcombe, Chudleigh, Exeter, Exminster, North Bovey, Powderham, and Shillingford St George.

Parsons

See Loddiswell and Plymouth.

Partridge

See Lapford and Down St Mary.

Pascoe

See Stoke Damerel.

Passmore

Passmore, Alfred E The pedigree of the Passmores of Passmore Hayes, Devon. London: Alfred E.Passmore (1929) [31]p: table. [13-20th c] [Westcountry Studies Library s929.2/PAS]
Bernau, Charles A. Pedigrees of the Passmores of Passmore Hayes. (1929). [Westcountry Studies Library s929.2/PAS]
See also Goodleigh.

Pasmore

See Woodleigh.

Paviour

See Totnes.

Payne

See Exeter.

Pearce

See Holsworthy.

Pearse

See Bigbury.

Pedler

Pedler, Sir Frederick. A Pedler family history, Chichester, Phillimore (1984) ix, 130p: ill, map. [ISBN 0850335477] [Westcountry Studies Library s929.2/PED]

Peller

See Withycombe Raleigh.

Pepperrell

See Revelstoke.

Percy

See Dartmouth.

Perry

Price, Jacob M. Perry of London: a family and a firm on the seaborne frontier, 1615-1753. Cambridge, Harvard University Press, (1992) xi, 191 pp. : geneal. tables. [Includes pedigrees; originally of Devon.] [LDS 942.1/L1 U3p]

Peter

Tapley-Soper, H. Chapter in the History of the Peter or Petre family of Devon, Trans. Devon. Assoc. 50, 1918, pp. 417-30. [16-17th c.]

Petre

See South Brent.

Pett

See Totnes.

Phillips

A South Devon Phillips Family, by Michael Mitchelmore.
Lucas, E. & J. A Devonshire Phillips Family, The Author (2003). [p292.2/PHI]

Pickard

See Clovelly.

Pidgeon

See Cullompton.

Pine-Coffin

Rowe, J.Y. Some Rowe-Pine-Coffin connections. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 30 (1), 1965, pp. 15-18. [Raymond: Of Cheshire, Leicestershire, and Devon; mainly medieval.]
See also Alwington.

Pingstone

See Tiverton.

Pinsent

Pinsent, R.F.J.H. A surname and a source, Devon Historian 10, 1975, pp. 32-35. [Raymond: Pinsent family]

Pipard

See North Bovey.

Pitman

See Dunchideock, and Exeter.

Pitt

See Sidmouth.

Plantaganet

See North Bovey.

Pole

Vivian, J.L. Pedigreee of the Pole-Carew family of Devon, reprinted from the visitation of the county of Devon, with additions and corrections. Exeter: W. Pollard, 1892.
See also Colyton, Dawlish, and Shute.

Pollard

Fox, Charles Henry. A short genealogical account of some of the various families of Fox in the West of England, to which is appended a pedigree of the Crokers of Lineham, and also sketches of the families of Churchill, Yeo, Pollard, Coplestone, Strode, Fortescue and Bonvile. Bristol: T. Kerslake & Co., 1864. [Raymond: With folded pedigrees, 17-19th c.]
Pollard, W.B. William Pollard of Devon and the West Indies and some of his descendants, Barbados Museum Journal, 25 (2), 1958, pp. 54-74.

Polyblank

Polyblank, Keir. Polyblank? Oh, that's an unusual name, Devon Family Historian, vol. 154, (2015) pp.23-25.
See also Horwood, Kings Nympton and Stoke Damerel.

Pomeroy

See Berry Pomeroy.

Pook

See Culmstock and Stoke Canon.

Pool

See Buckland Filleigh.

Pooley

Stigall, P.G. Stigall, Phyllis Graham. Samuel John Pooley & the Pooleys of the West Country with additions & corrections to Samuel John Pooley, widows son, Scarborough, NY, P.G. Stigall (1988) iv,100p ; maps,tables.
Stigall, P.G. Samuel John Pooley & Pooleys of West Country, (2001). [DFHS Library p292.2/POO]
See also Mary Tavy.

Pope

See Plympton St Mary.

Popham

Popham, Frederick, W. A West Country family: the Pophams from 1150. Sevenoaks: The Author, 1976. [Raymond: Somerset, Devon and Hampshire.] [LDS 929.242 P812p]

Porch

See Walkhampton.

Pound

See Stoke Damerel.

Prestwood

See BroadhempstonExeter and  North Huish.

Prettejohn

See Stokenham.

Prideaux

Davidson, J. (transcr.). Memoirs and pedigrees of the families of Prideaux and Gwyn. Manuscript [1850?] [Westcountry Studies Library ms929.2/PRI]
Maclean, Sir John. A brief memoir of the families of Prideaux of Devon and Cornwall, and of Brune of Hants and Dorset. Exeter: William Pollard, 1874. [Raymond: Reprinted from his History of Trigg-Minor. Includes pedigree, medieval-19th c.]
Prideaux, R.M. Prideaux: A Westcountry clan. Chichester: Phillimore, (1989) 304 pp. [ISBN: 0850336740] [Raymond: Medieval-20th c., pedigrees]
See also Ermington, Harford, and Tavistock.

Prince

Jones, Winslow. The author of the worthies of Devon and the Prince family, Trans. Devon. Assoc. 25, 1893, pp. 382-87.
Watkin, Hugh R. John Prince's genealogy, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 14, 1926-27, pp. 180-83. See also pp. 202-3.
See also Clovelly.

Pring

See Aveton Gifford.

Prouse

See Buckland Brewer and Chagford.

Prout

Lea, J. Henry. Genealogical gleanings among the English archives. New England Hist. & Gen. Reg. 55, 1901, pp. 95-106. [Raymond: Prout family of Devon and Cornwall; includes wills, extracts from parish registers, and Chancery proceedings, with folded pedigree, 16-18th c.]
See also Plymouth.

Prouz

See Aveton Gifford.

Prowse

Colby, F.T. Deed of gift from Sir William Le Pruz to his brother William Le Pruz, Genealogist (New Series), 6, 1890, pp. 171-72. [Raymond: North Devon, 13th c.]
See also Broadhempston, Chagford, and Sandford.

Prudom

See Exeter.

Prudum

See Exeter.

Pryor

See Mary Tavy.

Puddicombe

See Bovey Tracey and Plymouth.

Pugsley

Pugsley, Robert James. The Pugsley story: the family history of James Pugsley and his descendants . Moe, Vic.: the author, (1991) 112 pp.: facsims., geneal. tables, ports.. [ISBN: 0646064258] [Raymond: Originally of Devon; includes pedigrees, 18-20th c.]

Punchard

See Heanton Punchardon, and Totnes.

Putt

Ball, Hilary. Coincidences, Devon Family Historian, no. 152, (2014) pp.13-15. [Families mentioned: Atwill, Harvey, Palk, Putt, Sibley, Tinkham, Webber]
See also Gittisham.

Pye

Kellow John Pye: his forbears and descendants. [s.l.]: [s.n.] [1955?] 20p: ill, table [Westcountry Studies Library 929.2/PYE]

Pyles

See Talaton.

Pyne

Pyne, Jeremy. The Pyne Tree - Research into the Pyne Families in the Westcountry, Devon Family Historian, vol. 130, (2009) pp.34-35.
Pyne, Jeremy. Heralding a Breakthrough, Devon Family Historian, vol. 166, (2018) pp.22-24. [The Pyne family (12th and 16th centuries)]
See also Axmouth, East Down, and West Down.