Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for R

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Devon Genealogies - R

Radford

Radford, C.D. The royal descent from Edward I, of the Radford families, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 27, 1956-58, pp. 209-12.
Radford, C.D. Radfordiana Devoniensis, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 28, 1959-61, pp. 16-23, 42-46, 82-84, 112-116, 136-41, 176-82, & 288-90. [16-18th c.]
See also Lapford and Kentisbeare.

Rafarel

See Barnstaple, and Exeter.

Raleigh

Brushfield, T.N. Sir W. Ralegh: a plea for the surname, Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 18, 1886, pp. 450-61. [Raymond: On the spelling of the surname.] [Index]
Brushfield, T.N. Raleghana, Trans. Devon. Assoc. 28, 1896, pp. 372312. [17th c.]
Brushfield, T.N. Raleghana, part III: remarks on the ancestry of Sir William Ralegh, Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 30, 1900, pp. 308-40.
Brushfield, T.N. Raleghana, pt. iv: Sir Henry de Ralegh, knight, Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 34, 1902, pp. 456-81.
Coxwell-Rogers, R.R. Raleigh pedigree, Miscellanea Genealogica et Heraldica vol. 2, 1876, pp. 155-57. [17th c.]
Coxwell-Rogers, R.R. Raleigh pedigree: extracted from the records of the College of Arms. Privately printed, 1869. [17-18th c.]
D., S.G. Memoir of Sir Walter Ralegh, born 1552, beheaded 18 Oct. 1618, New England Hist. & Gen. Reg. 16, 1862, pp. 105-18. [Raymond: Includes Ralegh pedigree, 15-17th c.]
Stanford, J.G. The Raleghs take to the sea. Mariners' Mirror vol. 48, 1962, pp. 18-35.
See also East Budleigh and Withycombe Raleigh.

Ralph

See Exeter.

Ramsay

See Plymouth.

Randall

Rundell, W.W. Notes relating to the family surnames Randall, Rendell, and Rundell, and to persons who have borne these names. London: Chiswick Press (1891) pp. 60. [BL 9914.f.20.] [Raymond: Medieval-18th c., includes pedigrees.]

Randell

See Berry Pomeroy, and Clovelly.

Rashleigh

See Barnstaple.

Rattenbury

See Exeter.

Rawle

Rawle, Edwin John. Records of the Rawle family, collected from national archives, parish registers, wills and other sources. Taunton: Barnicott & Pearse, Athenaeum Press, (1898) pp. xii. 324. [BL 9906.k.3] [Raymond: Of Somerset, Devon, Cornwall, etc., 15-19th c.]
See also Stoke Damerel.

Rawley

See East Budleigh.

Rede

See Wembury.

Redvers

Bearman, R., (Ed.). Charters of the Redvers Family and the Earldom of Devon 1090-1217, Torquay, Devon & Cornwall Record Society New Series, Vol. 37 (1994) xvi + 227 p.
Rose-Troup, F. The hereditary sheriffs of Devon, Trans. Devon. Assoc. 64, 1932, pp. 397-413. [Raymond: Descendants of Baldwin the sheriff, and Richard de Redvers, 12th c.]
See also Buckland Monachorum, Exeter, and Walkhampton.

Reid

See Plymouth.

Rendell

Lane, Michael. The Rendel connection: a dynasty of engineers. London: Quiller Press, (1989) 224p. ill. ports,plans,geneal.table. [BL YK.1991.b.3758] [Raymond: 19-20th c. of London; originally of Devon.]
Reynolds, Chris F. Rendell family of South Devon, Tring, Herts., Codil Language Systems [1989?] 65p: tables. [Westcountry Studies Library] [17-19th c.]

Rendle

See Teignmouth.

Retter

Retter, C.F. Notes on the Retter/Rutter families of East Devon and Wellington Somerset. Combe Down, Bath: The Author (1980) [80]leaves: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library sx929.2/RET]
Stanes, R. Retter: the making of a surname, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 33 (4), 1975, pp. 124-45. [Raymond: Of East Devon and Somerset.]
See also Clyst Honiton.

Reynell

See Denbury, Exeter, West Ogwell, and Wolborough.

Reynolds

Colby, F.T. Pedigrees of five Devonshire families: Colby, Coplestone, Reynolds, Palmer and Johnson. Exeter: W. Pollard (1884) 40p. Appendices, additions and corrections published 1885 and 1894. 40p. [BL 9904.m.5.]
Reynolds, Chris F. The ancestors of Lucy Ann Reynolds, Tring, CODIL Language Systems (1988) [115] pp. [Westcountry Studies Library px929.2/REY]

Rice

See Cullompton .

Richards

See Kentisbury.

Ridd

See Bratton Fleming.

Ridgway

See Tormoham.

Risdon

Jon Risdon's pages: Origins of the Risdon dynasty and Notable Risdons then and now.
See West Teignmouth.

Rixer

See Halberton, and Tiverton.

Robins

Moore, Oliver. In Search of Pastures Green: Robins Family from Devon, The Author (2003). [ISBN 0975068806] [DFHS Library 929.2/ROB]

Rocket

See Axmouth.

Rogers

See Exeter St Petrock and Shillingford St George.

Roper

See Plympton St Mary.

Rose-Troup

See Rockbeare.

Rosebeare

Swanborough, Sue. The Rosebeare Family: Trying to trace owners of these old photos, Devon Family Historian, vol. 163, (2017) p.14.

Rosewell

James, Francis B. Sir Henry Rosewell: a Devon worthy: his ancestry and history, Trans. Devon. Assoc. 20, 1888, pp. 113-22. [Includes pedigree.] [Index]

Rosier

Nicholls, Christine. We Seek Them Here, We Seek Them There, But End Up In North Devon, Devon Family Historian, vol. 146, (2013) pp.5-6.

Rossiter

See Tiverton.

Rouse

Carbonnell, B.M.H. The Rouse or Royal Goblet, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 18, 1934-35, pp. 290-94. [Raymond: Rouse family of Devon and Cornwall, 16-19th c.]
Street, John C. and Peters, Douglas C. A Genealogy of the Rouses of Devon, Madison, Wisconsin, (2002) 6 maps, pedigrees, ix + (i) + 456 pp.
See also Hatherleigh, and Modbury.

Row

See Stoke Gabriel.

Rowcliff

White, D.M. A family record. Landford: The Author [1996] 1 vol: ill, maps, ports. [Raymond: Chapter on Routleff/Rowcliff/Rowtcliffe family of Devon] [Westcountry Studies Library sx929.2/ROU]

Rowe

Rowe, J.Y. Rowe family. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 27, 1956-58, pp. 314-17; 28, 1959-61, pp. 266-69; 29, 1962-64, pp. 65-67 & 116-18.
Rowe, J.Y. Some Rowe-Pine-Coffin connections. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 30 (1), 1965, pp. 15-18. [Raymond: Of Cheshire, Leicestershire, and Devon; mainly medieval.]
Rowe, J.Y. Spicer family. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 30, 1965-67, pp. 173-74. [17-18th c.] [Raymond: Mainly about the Rowe family.]
Rowe, J.Y. Rowe family and El Cid. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 30, 1965-67, pp. 324-6.
Rowe, J.Y. Rowe, Methuen, Howard families and Holcombe Court. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 30 (5), 1966, pp. 136-38..
See also Staverton.

Rowland

See Bradninch and Sutcombe.

Ruddock

See Broadwoodkelly.

Rumbelow

Rumbelow, Bryan. Rumbelow, Devon Family Historian, vol. 115, (2005) pp.37-38.

Rundle

See Milton Abbot.

Russell

Thomson, G.S. Exeter and the Russell Earls of Bedford, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 17, 1932, pp. 13-30.
Wiffen, J.H. Historical memoirs of the house of Russell; from the time of the Norman Conquest. London: Longman (1833) 2 vols, ports: ill [Westcountry Studies Library]
See also Milton Abbot.