Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Georgeham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Georgeham

"GEORGEHAM, a small straggling village, in a valley 8 miles W.S.W. of Barnstaple, has in its parish 923 souls and 4650 acres of land, extending westward to Croyde and Morte Bays, and the long narrow promontory called Baggy Point, where the rocky cliffs rise boldly from the Bristol Channel. Most of the parishioners are in the villages and hamlets of Croyde, North Buckland, Darracott, and Puttsborough. Croyde is a pleasant sea bathing place, with a fine bay, and much romantic scenery in its vicinity. The manor of Georgeham was anciently the seat and property of the knightly family of Pickwell, and now belongs to Earl Fortescue. C.H. Webber, Esq., is lord of the manor of Croyde, or Crede; but a great part of the parish belongs to John Dunning, W.V. Richards, (of Incledon House,) the Rev. F. Hole, and a number of smaller owners, mostly free and partly lease holders. The Church (St. George,) is a fine antique structure, and among its monuments is the tomb of a crusader, supposed to be that of Sir Mauger St. Albyn. In the churchyard are buried Simon Gould and his wife Julian, who died in March, 1817, each in the 101st year of their age, and having been married upwards of 75 years." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Braunston Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Bond, Sue. Research Corner 4, Devon Family Historian, vol. 155, (2015) p.28. [Negley Farson]
Mitchell, Kate. William Scamp 1801-1872, Devon Family Historian, vol. 145, (2013) pp.22. [Architect]

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon and NDA North Devon indexes- see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Balfour, H.S. An Armory of Georgeham Church. Trans. Devon Assoc. 101 (1969) pp.107-113.
The Baptist burial ground at Cross, Croyde, Georgeham. [1978?] 169. [Westcountry Studies Library - x929.5/GEO/BAP]
Georgeham: inscriptions on stones in the churchyard, old and extension, together with those in the new cemetry ... Photocopy of typescript [1978?] [1],cvi,[45]leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library - 929.5/GEO/GEO]

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Georgeham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Brief accounts of the history of Georgeham's churches.

Crowley, Mrs J M. Notes on the Ruined Chapel of St Helen at Croyde, in the Parish of Georgeham. Trans. Dev. Assoc. 86 (1954) pp.166-72.
Smith, Denise & Harris, Brian. St George's Church, Georgeham. Georgeham PCC (2007) 15pp.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1559, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1538, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Baptist Chapel, St Mary's Road, Croyde: Registers for 1821-35 (Z) in PRO RG 4/944; 1984+ M) with Church Secretary

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1540-180 and Marriages 1538-1840.

Brock, Bob and Ann. From Cradle to Grave 1900-1919, 20 years of Birth, Marriage and Death Notices Taken from the 'North Devon Journal' for the parishes of Ashford, Bittadon, Heanton Punchardon, Georgeham, Marwood, Morthoe and West Down Braunton Museum, The Bakehouse Centre, Caen Street, Braunton, N. Devon EX33 1AA (2002?) 60p.
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Arlington, Ashford, Berrynarbor, Bittadon, Bratton Fleming, Braunton, Brendon, Challacombe, Charles, Combe Martin, Countisbury, East Buckland, East Down, Georgeham, Goodleigh, Heanton Punchardon, High Bray, Ilfracombe, Kentisbury, Loxhore, Lynton, Martinhoe, Marwood, Mortehoe, Parracombe, Shirwell, Stoke Rivers, Trentishoe, West Buckland and West Down. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Arlington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1814-1837; Ashford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1747-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Berrynarbor Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bittadon Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1754-1835, Bur: 1815-1843; Bratton Fleming Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Braunton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brendon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Challacombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1822-1848; Charles Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Combe Martin Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Countisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Buckland Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1839; East Down Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1839, Bur: 1813-1852; Georgeham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Goodleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Heanton Punchardon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; High Bray Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ilfracombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Kentisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1841, Bur: 1813-1837; Loxhore Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lynton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Martinhoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Marwood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Mortehoe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1837; Parracombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1598-1838, Bur: 1813-1838; Shirwell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Stoke Rivers Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Trentishoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; West Buckland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; West Down Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1840.]

Description and Travel

Croyde and District web-site.

Section on Georgeham from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Bell, Leslie E. Croyde, (1966). [Westcountry Studies Library]
You can see pictures of Georgeham which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Ann Pearce, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs on fiche.)

Harris, Brian. The Hole family of Georgeham, Georgeham PCC (2001, rev. 2006) 30pp. [Members of the Hole family were rectors of the parish from 1783 to 1913]
Kelly, Mary. The Langdon family of Georgeham, Braunton, Northam and Heanton Punchardon, North Devon, England, Moggill, Queensland, M. Kelly (1994?) 1 vol: ill, maps. [Westcountry Studies Library px929.2/LAN]
Pearce, John. Gideon Bassett - A Decade of Research, Devon Family Historian, no. 149, (2014) pp.15-16.

Heraldry

Balfour, H.S. An Armory of Georgeham Church. Trans. Devon Assoc. 101 (1969) pp.107-113.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Georgeham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Georgeham to another place.

History

Balfour, H.S. The History of Georgham and Croyde. Georgeham: H.S.Balfour (1990) 73p: ill,maps. [Westcountry Studies Library - pxB/GEO 3/0001/BAL
Chanter, J.F. Harris of Pickwell. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 7:5, (1912) pp.178. [See vol.7, p.120, par.95. Also 7, p.256, par.182.]
Lamplugh, Lois. A book of Georgeham and the North West Corner of Devon. Barnstaple: Westwell Publ (1995) [vii],150p: ill,maps. [ISBN 0952141329]
Thompson, R.W. Home in Ham, (1938) 240 pp. [With drawings by Gay Thomas]
Williamson, Henry. Life in a Devon village [Georgeham] London, Breslich & Foss, 1983.

Merchant Marine

Balfour, H. Stevenson. The wreck of H.M.S. Weazle. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 102, (1970) pp.105-119, plate: ill. [In 1799]

Names, Personal

Georgeham contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.