Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Halberton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Halberton

"HALBERTON is a large village, 3 miles E. of Tiverton, near the Grand Western Canal, and 1½ mile W. of the junction of the Tiverton branch with the Bristol and Exeter Railway. Its parish contains 1739 inhabitants, and about 7600 acres of land, including the hamlets of Brethem-Bottom, Seckerleigh, Muxbeare, Ash, and many scattered houses. Earl Powlett is lord of the manor of Halberton-Dean or Lower Town, which he holds on lease under the Dean and Chapter of Bristol. The manor of Halberton Boys, formerly held by the Boys and other families, was purchased in 1808, by Richard Hall Clarke, Esq., of Bridwell House . . . The manor of Morston belongs to the countess of Egremont. Mount Stephen is the seat of George Wood, Esq., and Halberton Court is the residence of Thomas Webber, Esq. The other principal owners of land in this large parish are the Rev. J. Pitman, Capt Adney, W. Nation, Esq., G. Pearce, Esq., Rev. J. Spurway, and Capt. Cphr. Laroche. . . . The Church (St. Andrew,) is a handsome structure, of the 14th century, with a tower and five bells. . . . Here is an old Wesleyan Chapel, and a Farmer's Club. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Halberton Hundred, the Archdeaconry and Diocese of the Exeter. Though Muxbere is in this parish, its inhabitants tended to use and be registered in Willand Church. Chief Loman is a detached part of this parish.

topup

Biography

Cameron, Vanessa (Mrs). Henry Jutsum - 11th September 1814 - 3rd March 1869, Devon Family Historian, vol. 134, (2010) pp.30-32. [Victorian artist, b. London of a Halberton family.]
Hooper, David. A Soldier in the 6th Foot, Devon Family Historian, vol. 124, (2007) pp.20. [Samel Osmond (c1780-1865)]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

topup

Census

A local census of Halberton, of 1864, listing housholders and household numbers, is held at the Devon Record Office (DRO 4074A/PZ 3).

topup

Church History

Halberton - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Parish church website.

The Halberton Parish Church web-site provides a well-illustrated brief history of the church.

Bagwell, F.H. Short History of Methodism in Halberton. Wellington: Rockwell Printers (1960) 17p. [Westcountry Studies Library - 287.1/HAL/BAG]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1605 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Indexed transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1605, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1612, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel, High Street: Registers for c1812-37 - see Tiverton (PRO RG 4/342)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1605-1837, and Marriages 1612-1837.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bampton, Bickleigh, Burlescombe, Calverleigh, Clayhanger, Culmstock, Halberton, Hockworthy, Holcombe Rogus, Huntsham, Loxbeare, Morebath, Petton Chapelry, Sampford Peverell, Tiverton St. Peter, Tiverton Cove, Uffculme, Uplowman, Washfield and Willand. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White’s Directory (1850) and Kelly’s Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM 064, Exeter, Devon FHS (2016). [Bampton Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1814-1838; Bickleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1800-1837; Burlescombe Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1838 Bur: 1813-1837; Calverleigh Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clayhanger Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1833 Bur: 1750-1852; Culmstock Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Halberton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Hockworthy Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1759-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Holcombe Rogus Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1844 Bur: 1813-1837; Huntsham Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1750-1838; Loxbeare Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1983; Morebath Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Petton Chapelry Bampton Parish Bapt: 1813-1839 Bur: 1813-1861; Sampford Peverell Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Tiverton St Peter Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Tiverton Cove Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1682-1837 Bur: 1815-1837; Uffculme Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1783-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Uplowman Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Washfield Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Willand Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837.]
The Register of baptisms, marriages & burials of the parish of Halberton, Devon, 1605-1837. Exeter,1930 1940, 2 v. in 1. 4to. 1st series. Parish Registers Devon and Cornwall Record Society.
Phillimore, W.P.W. Memorials of the Family of Finmore, The Author, 124 Chancery Lane, London (1886) 76 pp. [Full text] [Contains extensive extracts from the Halberton PRs related to the Finmore family]
topup

Court Records

Register of Freeholders - Ermington, Exminster, Fremington & Halberton c1816, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF D128). [Foreword]
topup

Description and Travel

Halberton parish community web-site.

Conservation Area Appraisal for Halberton - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

Section on Halberton from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Halberton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Halberton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

McCrea, Nigel. Cook of Halberton and Tiverton: The Mystery of the Rixer 'Alias', Devon Family Historian, vol. 73, (1995) pp.17-19.
Payne, Christopher. Bale Family & Halberton Methodist Chapel, Devon Family Historian, vol. 156, (2015) pp.20-21.
Terry, George Skelton. Genealogical research in England: Burt-March, New England Hist. & Gen. Reg. 86, 1932, pp. 77-84, 216-20 and 247-52, Burt and March families of Halberton, Devon, etc. [Raymond: 16-17th c. Includes wills, extracts from parish registers and court rolls, etc.]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Halberton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Reichel, Oswald J. The hundreds of Hemyock and Halberton in early times, Trans. Devonshire Association, (1929) pp.33-63.
Voce, Eileen. Halberton and Halbertonians: the story of a Devon village and its inhabitants. Halberton: A. & E. Voce (1994) 127pp. [DFHS Tree House Library]
Voce, Eileen. Halberton and Halbertonians: The continuing story of a Devon village and its inhabitants - Vol. 2, Halberton: A. & E. Voce (2012?).
topup

Land and Property

Elliot, John. Homes and gardens - the Priory, Halberton. Devon Life vol. 8 no. 66 (1971) pp.14-16; ill.
topup
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Cullompton Register of Bastardy Applications 1850-1859, Exeter, Devon FHS (2004). [Includes parishes of Burlescombe, Churchstanton, Cullompton, Halberton, Kentisbeare, Silverton, Thorverton and Uffculme.] [Foreword] [Names included in the overall index published as "Rich man, poor man, beggar man, thief" (CD 023).
topup

Probate Records

Will of Henry Marwood (1547) provided by David Carter.

Kearsley, M. A Copy of the Will of Mary Ann Lear. Devon Family Historian 45 (1888) pp.24-26. [Of Halberton, 1802.]
Worthy, Charles. The Will of Henry Marwood. Western Antiquary 9, 5 (1889) pp.77-78. [Of Halberton, 1547.]
topup

Taxation

Window Tax records for 1710 are held by the Devon Record Office.

Howard, A.J. Lay subsidy roll: county of Devon 1524: Halberton hundred ...Bampton hundred...West Budleigh hundred...Hayridge hundred...Tiverton hundred, Typescript (1968). [D&CRS Library, Exeter: P1524]