Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Halwill

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Halwill

"HALWELL, a small village in a hilly district, 7 miles SE by E of Holsworthy, has in its parish 319 souls and 3426 acres of land including Stronds, Upcott, Stowford, Landhill, Foxhole, and other scattered farms. Sir Wm. Molesworth is lord of the manor, and owner of great part of the soil. The Church has a tower and five bells.The rectory valued in KB at £12. 3s. 9d.and in 1831 at £210 is in the patronage of the Lord Chancellor, and incumbency of the Rev. Ambrose Stapelton of East Budleigh. The glebe is 125 acres, and the Parsonage is a good residence, built in 1849, at the cost of £600" [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

The spelling "Halwill" is given by Peskett. A parish in Black Torrington Hundred, and the Archdeaconry of Totnes and Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Pte. William Stanlake, V.C., D.C.M. (born born in October 1830 at Uppacott Farm, Halwill).

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Halwill area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1695 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1695 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993) under the name Halwell by Holsworthy: Parish Church Christenings 1695-1812 Marriages 1695-1837.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbots Bickington, Ashwater, Black Torrington, Bradford, Bradworthy, Bridgerule, Clawton, Cookbury, Halwill, Hollacombe, Holsworthy, Luffincott, Milton Damerel, Pancrasweek, Pyworthy, Sutcombe, Tetcott, Thornbury, West Putford and Holsworthy Weslyan Burials. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850), Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902) and A Topographical Dictionary of England, Samuel Lewis (1831), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Abbots Bickington Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1770-1833 Bur: 1813-1837; Ashwater Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Black Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bradford Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1705-1837; Bradworthy Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bridgerule Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clawton Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Cookbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1841; Halwill Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1843; Hollacombe Bapt: 1813-1898 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1852; Holsworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1860 Bur: 1813-1837; Holsworthy Weslyan Bapt: 1812-1831; Luffincott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1814-1840; Milton Damerel Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1761-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pancrasweek Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pyworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Sutcombe Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Tetcott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1813-1837; Thornbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; West Putford Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1838.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Halwill from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Halwill which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Halwill to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Halwill has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Williams, H.Fulford. Notes on the parish of Halwill, Devon. Typescript (1964) 6p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/HAL 7/0001/WIL]
topup
topup

Probate Records

Transcripts of the wills of James Brayley (1840) and Thomas Brayley (1848), provided by Roy Drew.

Summary of the admin. of goods of William Mallett of Halwell granted to Elizabeth Mallett 9 June 1692, provided by Mike Mallett - the suggestion is that William Mallett is in fact of Halwill.