Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for High Bickington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

High Bickington

"BICKINGTON, (HIGH) 8 miles E. by N. of Torrington, and N.W. of Chulmleigh, has in its parish 895 souls, and 3993 acres of land, including North and South Hele, Stowford, and other scattered farms. It had formerly a market every Wednesday, which was discontinued about 1725, and it still has a cattle fair on the Monday after May 14th. The parish is in several manors, and belongs to A. Bassett, Esq., Mrs. Pyncombe's Trustees, the Rev. W.P. Stowell, John Bremridge, Esq., the Rev. P. Johnson, and a few smaller owners. The Church is an ancient structure, with a tower and six bells, and the rectory, valued in K.B. at £39. 7s. 7d., and in 1831 at £532, is in the patronage and incumbency of the Rev. W.P. Stowell, who has a pleasant residence and 157A. 3R. 34P. of glebe. The Baptists have a chapel here, and the poor have the interest of £40 left by Joshua Tucker, in 1721. The parish school has £10 a year from Mrs. Pyncombe's Charity." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Extracts from 'Recollections of an Evangelist' by Robert Gribble, covering his life in High Bickington.

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the NDA North Devon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Graves in St Mary's churchyard - plan and MIs provided in the High Bickington village web-site.

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the High Bickington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

High Bickington - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

The High Bickington village web site provides photographs and a history of the parish church (St Mary's).

Bolt, Margaret R. High Bickington Methodist Church 1834-1984: a brief history. [High Bickington]: M.R.Bolt [1984] 20p. [Barnstaple Library - 726.5/HIG 1/BOL]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1707 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1707, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1597, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1597-1812 and Marriages 1597-1598, 1610-1644, 1670-1837.

Burial Records (1813-1879) - transcription provided in the High Bickington village web-site.

Hingeston-Randolph, F.C. The Rectors of High Bickington in the Deanery of Torrington. (!891) [Westcountry Studies Library]
Deanery of Barnstaple - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2005). [Index of Atherington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Barnstaple: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Bishops Tawton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Chittlehampton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Filleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Fremington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), High Bickington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Horwood: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1654-1837), Burials (1675-1837), Huntshaw: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Instow: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Landkey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Newton Tracey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1570-1837), Burials (1725-1837), Pilton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Swimbridge: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Tawstock: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Westleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838)

Description and Travel

High Bickington - village website.

High Bickington - Parish Council website.

Section on High Bickington from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of High Bickington which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is William Cooke. (Resources: Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1813-1837 and Burials 1813-1837.)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which High Bickington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from High Bickington to another place.

History

The High Bickington village web site provides a very useful historical account.

Stone, Avril. The Book of High Bickington - A Devon Ridgeway Village, Tiverton, Halsgrove Community History Series (2000) 160 pp., over 300 photographs. [ISBN: 1-84114-061-9] [Index]

Names, Personal

The People Finder pages in the High Bickington village web site so far provide a listing of nearly 500 babies, from the files of the local midwife (1926-1960), and a transcription of the Electoral Roll for AD2000.

Names from White's 1850 Directory.