Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Hittisleigh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Hittisleigh

"HITTISLEIGH is a hilly parish of scattered houses, about 8 miles W.S.W. of Crediton, and 13 miles W. by N. of Exeter. It contains 109 souls, and 1155A. 3R. 11P. of land. C. Calmady, Esq., is lord of the manor, which was anciently held by the Talbots, Londons, and Shilstons, but the soil is all freehold, and belongs to the Hole, Pedlar, Haydon, Gorwyn, Webber, and other families. The Church (St. Andrew,) has a tower and three bells, and was newly seated in 1839-'40, at the cost of £12O. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £6. 2s. 1d., and in 1831 at £94, is in the gift of C. Calmady, Esq., and incumbency of the Rev. Richard Holland, M.A., of Spreyton. The glebe is 30A., and the parsonage house is a small building, erected about 12 years ago, on the site of the old one, which was destroyed by fire." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)] 

Hittisleigh is in Wonford Hundred, and the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hittisleigh area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Hittesleigh - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1676 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1676 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1676-1837, and Marriages 1678-1837.

The Deanery of Dunsford: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashton, Bridford, Chagford, Cheriton Bishop, Christow, Doddiscombsleigh, Drewsteignton, Dunsford, Gidleigh, Hittisleigh, Holcombe Burnell, South Tawton, Spreyton, Tedburn St. Mary, Throwleigh and Whitestone. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Ashton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1740-1837; Bridford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Chagford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Cheriton Bishop Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1841, Bur: 1813-1837; Christow Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1757-1844, Bur: 1813-1837; Doddiscombsleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1780-1837; Drewsteignton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Dunsford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Gidleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1748-1812 (BT's), Mar: 1814-1837, Bur: 1813-1884; Hittisleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Holcombe Burnell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1753-1837; South Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Spreyton Bapt: 1803-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Tedburn St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Throwleigh Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Whitestone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Hittisleigh from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Hittisleigh which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hittisleigh to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hittisleigh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

The Early History of Some Farms in Hittisleigh, by Sonia Lambert.

Freeman, E.V. Footprints of medieval life in a mid-Devon district. Exeter Dioc. Arch. Soc. Trans. 3rd ser, vol.4 (1924) pp. 97-109.
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Hittisleigh contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.