Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Holbeton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Holbeton

"HOLBETON, a large straggling village, on an eminence, west of the Erme estuary, and four miles S.W. by W. of Modbury, has in its parish 1120 souls, and 4623 acres of land, extending to Bigbury Bay, and including the hamlets of Mothecombe, Creacombe, and Ford, and many scattered farmhouses, &c. Lime is burnt here, and barges of 70 tons come up the estuary. Lady Eliz. Bulteel, (daughter of Earl Grey, and a relict of the late J.C. Bulteel Esq.,) is lady of the manor, and has a large and elegant mansion here, called Flete House, which was long the seat of the ancient family of Hele, one of whom was created a baronet in 1627. This branch of the family became extinct in 1716, when the estate passed to the Bulteels. . . . Membland Hall, the seat of Robert Robertson, Esq., formerly belonged to the Rev. Sir Pp. Perring, Bart., and was the occasional residence of his family, one of whom, Sir John Perring, was Lord Mayor of London in 1803, and was created a baronet in 1808. His uncle purchased the estate of the Bulteels, and rebuilt the house. Rd. Holland, Esq., the Rev. W.J. Pinwill, and several smaller owners, have estates in the parish. The Church (All Saints,) is a large and handsome cruciform structure, with a tower, containing six bells, and crowned by a spire. It is mostly in the early perpendicular style, and in the south aisle is a canopied monument, with a recumbent effigy of one of the Heles, and several kneeling figures. The vicarage, valued in K.B. at £24. 1s. 8d., and in 1831 at £300, is in the patronage of the crown, and incumbency of the Rev. Courtenay Bulteel, who has 3A. 1R. 36P. of glebe, and an ancient residence." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Ermington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter. Regarded as part of the South Hams area.

topup

Cemeteries

Brown, Mike. Guide Notes to Monuments in Devon Churches & Graveyards: Wembury, Holbeton. The Dartmoor Press. 16pp. [Hele, Calmady, Mildmay, Bulteel]
Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Holbeton area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Holbeton - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Beckerlegge, John J. Holbeton Church Reviewed. Trans. Devon Assoc. 64 (1932) pp.485-496. [Includes MIs.]
Heppenstall, P.G. The church and village of Holbeton. [Holbeton?]: [The Church?] [1965?] 16p. [Westcountry Studies Library - p726.5/HOL/HEP]
Jewers, A.J. The Church of Holbeton and its Monumental Remains. Trans.Dev.Assoc., vol. 32 (1900) 19p ; ill. [Includes register extracts, MIs, and transcripts of lay subsides of 1565/6 and 1623/4.] [Index]

Photograph of the Church, by Chris Burgoyne..

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1619 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1620 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Name listings extracted from the parish registers covering baptisms 1620-1850), marriages (1620-1837), and burials (1620-1850), provided by Donald Curkeet.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1620-1850 and Marriages 1620-1837.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the Deanery of Plympton. with photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2007). [Brixton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Cornwood: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Ermington: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1838), Bur (1813-1837 ), Harford: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1755-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Holbeton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Ivybridge: Bapt (1835-1840), Mar (1835-1840), Bur (1836-1840), Kingston: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837), Modbury: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Newton Ferrers: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837)), North Huish: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Mary: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Maurice: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plymstock: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Revelstoke: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Shaugh Prior: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1835), Ugborough: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1841), Bur (1813-1837), Wembury: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1612-1837), Bur (1813-1840), Yealmpton: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837)]
Vermeulen, Barbara. Burials - Holbeton Parish register, 18 December 1793, Devon Family Historian, vol. 146, (2013) p.8. [Lists nine seamen drowned on board His Majesty's cutter Pigmy.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Holbeton from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Holbeton which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription of the entry in White's Devonshire Directory (1850) by Terry Partridge.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Holbeton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Generations in England - the chapter of a large website about the Stone Family in Australia that deals with the family's Holbeton origins.

Allen, Vivian. The Bulteels: The Story of a Huguenot Family, Chichester, Phillimore & Co. (2004) 197 pp. [ ISBN: 1 86077 276 5] [Devon branches in Flete neat Holbeton, and Radford at Plymstock]
Clamp, Arthur L. The Rise and Fall of the Barings at Membland Hall, Plymouth: PDS Printers, 24 pp. [Lookups]
Hill, Barry. The Search for John Honey (Engineer), vol. 112, (2004) pp.21-22. [Honey family of Holsworthy]
Mildmay, Alfred. Mothecombe House 1249-1945. Typescript (1945?) [Westcountry Studies Library - msx929.2/MIL] [Mildmay family]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Holbeton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Sayers, Arnold. A history of Holbeton, South Devon. [Holbeton]: [A.Sayers] (1997) 80p: ill,maps. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/HOL 1/0001/SAY]
Williams, Leonard W. Holbeton memories. Plymouth: L.W.Williams [1994] 32p: chiefly ill,ports. [Westcountry Studies Library - pxB/HOL1/1900/WIL]
Your Devon? Holbeton, Devon Family Historian, No. 65, Feb. 1993, pp. 2-4.
topup

Land and Property

Elliot, John. Homes and gardens - Mothecombe House, Holbeton. Devon Life vol. 10 no. 82 (1973) pp.20-22; ill.
topup
topup

Military History

Sullock, J.D.C. Militia of the South Hams - Part Two: Ashprington, Portlemouth, Chivelstone, Thurlestone, Ugborough, Modbury, Aveton Giffard, Harford, Kingston, Holbeton, Ermington, Ringmore and Bigbury.(1569AD). J.D.C. Sullock, Stockton, Cleveland (n.d.) 9p.